Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2007, 11:04 AM
FINKSTONE FINKSTONE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 42
Default XP Pro - Driver Installation Warning Message

I have just installed XP Pro on an HP xw4100 for use with an Mbox2. When installing the Protools software, the prompt comes up in a box with BOLD LETTERS saying that if installation continues that certain systems may not function properly because this software has not been certified to be XP Pro compatible.
The last time I went through with it and installed the software (the WARNING message expressly says that Microsoft STRONGLY recommends you do not continue with installation) the computer crashed at sporadic intervals until I reinstalled XP Pro and then resintalled ProTools - the computer just quit booting up after that!
So, obviously I'm scared to futz this computer up like the last one and I really wanna start recording!

If worse comes to worst, I could always purchase a copy of Home XP and use that. The drivers/USB features of the XP Pro seem to be crossing it's short wires.

Thanks for any helpful attention!

-DP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2007, 11:14 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: XP Pro - Driver Installation Warning Message

Please...

Read the Getting Started Guide that comes with your system. This issue is covered in there along with other very important installation information.






R.T.F.M.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2007, 09:40 PM
djspl djspl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 89
Default Re: XP Pro - Driver Installation Warning Message

Quote:
I have just installed XP Pro on an HP xw4100 for use with an Mbox2. When installing the Protools software, the prompt comes up in a box with BOLD LETTERS saying that if installation continues that certain systems may not function properly because this software has not been certified to be XP Pro compatible.
The last time I went through with it and installed the software (the WARNING message expressly says that Microsoft STRONGLY recommends you do not continue with installation) the computer crashed at sporadic intervals until I reinstalled XP Pro and then resintalled ProTools - the computer just quit booting up after that!
So, obviously I'm scared to futz this computer up like the last one and I really wanna start recording!

If worse comes to worst, I could always purchase a copy of Home XP and use that. The drivers/USB features of the XP Pro seem to be crossing it's short wires.

Thanks for any helpful attention!

-DP
The warning you see is generic. There is a lot of software that is not "certified" by Microsoft, but is absolutely XP compatible.

Your problem is not a problem of Home vs. Pro as both operating systems use the same USB drivers and (I am 99% sure) the same Protools software and drivers.

"All this message means is that Microsoft wasn't able to complete their testing on that particular item. It usually only has to do with the drivers for those products as well. So, in reality, the meat and potatoes of the product did finish and pass the testing, but for some reason, that particular set of drivers wasn't able to be tested in a decent amount of time. See, it's not so bad!

So, what should you do when you receive this message? You can simply just continue on with the installation process. You will get a choice to stop or continue, so just click on Continue Anyway to finish the install just like you normally would. You won't encounter any abnormal problems. If you run into any trouble, it would be something that would normally happen with the item and it won't be just because of the logo testing error message you received.

Now, if you are still worried about this, you can certainly stop the installation and return the item you purchased. You can always do what you want. I know that even some of WorldStart's products contain this message. We have tested all of our items and we have continued on with the installation after the logo testing error occurs. We haven't had any problems thus far, so there really isn't anything for you to worry about. Just go on with the install and enjoy it!"
- http://www.worldstart.com/tips/tips.php/3138
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pro tools 9 startup problem. warning message. bigjoe8707 Pro Tools 9 1 11-30-2011 05:24 AM
Warning Message From ProTools M-Powered Essential 8 Aditya86 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 05-13-2011 05:10 PM
11 character message warning ArcticSeer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-08-2009 08:30 AM
WARNING: NO MIDI ON STAND-ALONE INSTALLATION omen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-18-2003 03:42 AM
PT 5 Free Installation Warning Przemek Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 11-03-2000 02:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com