Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2014, 06:07 PM
scullionj scullionj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LA
Posts: 32
Default Workspace Browser/Digibase Efficiency/speed

Anybody have any tips or tricks they'd like to share for improving the efficiency of using the workspace/digibase browser for sound effects spotting? It seems like it always takes a reallllly long time to conduct searches. My sound library is a little under a terabyte, total.

Of course, ideally I'd get soundminer, and I'm working on that one, but in the meantime I've gotta work with what I have

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2014, 09:55 PM
coaxmw coaxmw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Francisco/ Oakland
Posts: 43
Default Re: Workspace Browser/Digibase Efficiency/speed

Have you built a "Catalog" of your library, that will speed up searches if you haven't already done so.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2014, 06:41 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,385
Default Re: Workspace Browser/Digibase Efficiency/speed

The words "Digibase" and "speed" don't go together

Soundminer is very good about providing upgrades between products. You can buy in with one of their cheaper solutions, and move up as you need more. It's worth the money.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Producer/Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios | Rhumba
14 East 4th Street, Suite #602 | New York City
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2014, 08:02 AM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 555
Default Re: Workspace Browser/Digibase Efficiency/speed

i used it for one series and it was PAINFUL. theres no way to really speed things up, it is what it is....i went to soundminer in 2012 and literally could not do a series without it now.., as these cartoons are so fx intensive .....just keep slugging away i guess....
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2014, 08:20 AM
StefB's Avatar
StefB StefB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 493
Default Re: Workspace Browser/Digibase Efficiency/speed

Soundminer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2014, 02:38 PM
scullionj scullionj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LA
Posts: 32
Default Re: Workspace Browser/Digibase Efficiency/speed

Ha, well that's a bummer. Looks like general consensus is that it's just not...great...I'll try and keep at it for now, and will try the catalogs idea, but I'm also going to try and invest in some big boy software soon. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-30-2014, 03:44 PM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 555
Default Re: Workspace Browser/Digibase Efficiency/speed

well, if you figure the amount of man hours building those catalogs, only to have to re-do it once you buy soundminer.......you get my drift.....
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-30-2014, 03:45 PM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 555
Default Re: Workspace Browser/Digibase Efficiency/speed

i worked on the AMS audiofile for a long time, and it had decent cataloging capability, based on WIN NT.....but other nutty problems...
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-31-2014, 02:57 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,091
Default Re: Workspace Browser/Digibase Efficiency/speed

aah - those were the days (wave of warm fuzzy AMS nostalgia)
but don't miss all that local defaults stuff….
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com

Last edited by MIKEROPHONICS; 05-31-2014 at 02:58 AM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digibase browser Legion6789 Pro Tools 11 0 06-23-2013 06:36 PM
Digibase Browser Unavailable lucky13 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-28-2007 07:46 AM
Speed Efficiency smashingyoungman General Discussion 2 01-03-2007 08:43 AM
Digibase Browser not Working in 7.0 LE orangepopsongs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-08-2005 03:52 PM
opening the Workspace Browser (DigiBase in 6.1) kmshroom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-03-2003 05:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com