Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2022, 07:48 AM
apoyo.informatica1 apoyo.informatica1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Spain
Posts: 2
Default iLok License Manager in VM Hyper-V

Hello,

I have a problem detecting iLok USB with iLok License Manager in Hyper-V virtual machine natively, is there any solution? We are using Windows Server with Hyper-V.

Thank you
Regards
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2022, 09:42 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,419
Default Re: iLok License Manager in VM Hyper-V

What exactly are you doing and why? You are trying to run Pro Tools in a VM? That is not going to work well given how demanding a near real-time application Pro Tools is.

ILok has all sorts of issues running in VMs, deliberately crippled as an anti-theft mechanism and very lazily/poorly done and Pace/iLok does not seem to care when I have talked to them about this. Pity it would be useful for developers and similar folks as a test environment. ILok cloud licensing might work in a VM, don’t know/have not tried it. But again this is not somewhere you should ever be running Pro Tools in.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 05-30-2022 at 10:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-31-2022, 02:50 PM
apoyo.informatica1 apoyo.informatica1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Spain
Posts: 2
Default Re: iLok License Manager in VM Hyper-V

Hi,

No, we need to use a vm as a license server, not as a client. We have Pro Tools on Mac

This worked with VMWare but we need this with Microsoft Hyper-V.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-31-2022, 03:05 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,419
Default Re: iLok License Manager in VM Hyper-V

Gotcha. You likely need to contact iLok/Pace support, it's unlikely an Avid issue and I suspect not one many folks here would ever try.

---

And I'll go to my grave making this correction It's VMware. Capital "V". Capital "M". "ware". It was "VMWare" the day we launched the company at Demo '99 in San Diego, it lasted exactly one day and we had to change it to stop people asking what "vee.. um.. wuh... are" means.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New iLok License Manager Released - Now Supports iLok Cloud Managed Mode unkJE Licensing & Accounts 0 10-10-2019 04:07 PM
iLok License Manager - weirdness after license surrenders [SOLVED] originalscottyg Licensing & Accounts 1 05-03-2017 03:04 AM
License Error - Software Component Unavailable installing iLok License Manager martinaston Pro Tools 12 9 12-29-2016 08:16 PM
Bought Pro Tools, but activation license is now missing in iLok license manager JlrBrodie Licensing & Accounts 4 11-21-2016 01:25 PM
iLok License Manager - LICENSE TRANSFER ERROR MESSAGE jzacks524 General Discussion 6 06-26-2013 05:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com