Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2009, 02:14 PM
nincompoop nincompoop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: timbuktu
Posts: 37
Default 002 rack keeps losing asio driver in cubase 4.5

Hey all,

recently did a full clean reinstall of my XP pro partition, SP3 on a mac pro under bootcamp 2.1, cubase 4.5.2
My setup used to run fine, for 2 years, and I reinstalled everything exactly as it's always been.
Sice the new install, I keep getting the " digi 002 rack asio drive rnot connected "message when opening a song.
I then open the device menu and rechoose the driver, and it mostly works whenI just booted XP. But during work sessions, after closing C4 a couple of times and working with other apps such as soundforge 10, I reopen cubase and the driver is gone again, when choosing it in devices I get either a "bad device" message or " unknown error".
I tried changing Firewire ports, using different protools drivers, the standalone as well as the full install of 7.3 etc, same thing.
Why is it that I get that since the new install, and what could be the troublemaker? I always have to reboot to get rid of the problem.
I should mention that even when the digi002 is unable to connect to cubase, I can still choose it as the audio asio device for soundforge and it works there. That is why i suspect it to be a C4 issue, but not sure. Strange that it only occurs after my new clean XP install.

grateful for any hint!
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2009, 12:13 PM
koo_koo_bonkers koo_koo_bonkers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 126
Default Re: 002 rack keeps loosing asio driver in cubase 4.5

My system
  • Asus P5E-VM HDMI updated drivers
  • Windows XP pro Sp3 updated
  • Using the on-board firewire port
  • 003r
  • Digidesign ASIO Drivers v7.4
  • Pro tools LE is not installed
  • Reason 4.01
  • Kore2.1.0.9

Intermittently KORE2 or Reason cannot connect to the 003r as the ASIO driver is unavailable. Reason reports "Sound driver problem. The sound driver used in the previous session could not be opened." and Kore brings up its sound driver preference clearly showing the Digidesign ASIO driver is not available. To get it working I end up shutting down the computer and also restarting the 003r before a connection can be restored. When I do get the driver running in KORE2 or Reason I have to setup the driver preferences in each application again from scratch. This is killing my workflow.

At any time Soundforge (8.0d) can connect to the 003r with no problems.
__________________
MacPro 5,1 - 2 x 2.66 6 core - 32G Ram - SSD's - Mac OSX 10.12.6 - HD Native Card - Omni - Focusrite RedNet 5 - Avid Dock - iPad2

Last edited by koo_koo_bonkers; 11-16-2009 at 12:24 PM. Reason: adding detail
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2009, 08:13 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,392
Default Re: 002 rack keeps loosing asio driver in cubase 4.5

I can guess the problem but can't give you a solution. The Digi drivers aren't multiclient and Soundforge (most likely) is not releasing the driver when shut down so the other two apps can't use it. Most modern audio devices with ASIO drivers are multiclient so this doesn't matter but Digi didn't do that.

I'd also make sure that the "sounds and audio devices" control panel does NOT have any of the digi hardware set as default hardware for system sounds, etc. Also, if Soundforge has a "release audio driver" option like Cubase, I'd check it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2009, 05:52 AM
nincompoop nincompoop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: timbuktu
Posts: 37
Default Re: 002 rack keeps losing asio driver in cubase 4.5

Hi BScout,

Sondforge never uses the digi asio drivers, but the internal mac soundcard when I use it with Cubase open. Also, Windows only uses the internal device.
The whole problem appears to be random, sometimes C4 would have no problem, sometimes it would not find the drivers, and I don't think any other app is interfering with the sound devices - I rather suspect that the firewire port might be unaccessible to cubase for some unknown reason...but just speculating.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT9 - 003 rack -ASIO DRIVER error with Cubase 4.5 - any solution? Kev79 Pro Tools 9 4 11-15-2010 01:24 AM
keep losing the asio driver for digi rack 002 in cubase 4.5 nincompoop 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-15-2009 07:03 AM
Cubase SX3 +Mbox / ASIO Driver skeeter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-07-2009 02:10 AM
Which ASIO driver w Cubase SX and Digi 001 Jotown 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-20-2004 04:16 PM
Cubase SX and Asio driver under PT 5.3.1 mucky 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-29-2003 08:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com