Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2009, 10:43 AM
volanto volanto is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 23
Default connecting my MBox 2 to a receiver

Hello

I wanted to connect my MBox 2 to a Kenwood 5.1 surround receiver. if i want to get the sound from my on board sound device i usually plug the audio output to the receiver's CD/DVD audio input. not surprisingly it doesn't work with the L and R monitor output in the MBox, so i figured, i must get a double RCA cable and use the spdif (digital monitor out is it? because my receiver is a digital one to, with all RCA inputs) and that wont work either because the spdif light indicator isnt on either. so how do i get the spdif output to work? or could i with this kind of receiver? maybe there's another audio input in my receiver that i need to try? maybe 'tape play in'?

thanks to anyone who can help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2009, 12:12 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,382
Default Re: connecting my MBox 2 to a receiver

Are you sure that the audio inputs of your Kenwood that you are using are digital? They may not be. Those RCA inputs are historically line level audio, just like the audio outputs of your Mbox.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2009, 07:34 AM
volanto volanto is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: connecting my MBox 2 to a receiver

i have already tried plugging the monitor out to the CD\DVD audio input in the receiver. i know the receiver's input is all fine because it works with anything else. my other inputs are phono (cant be that one), rec out(md), play in(tape), rec out and play in of video 1 and another play in video 2. the cd\dvd looks like the only possibility doesnt it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-11-2009, 08:21 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,855
Default Re: connecting my MBox 2 to a receiver

But, as Tom stated, the S/PDIF RCA jacks are DIGITAL and the jacks on your receiver are analog, which won't read a digital signal. You need to use the line outputs of your Mbox if you want to feed an analog input.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-11-2009, 09:08 AM
volanto volanto is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: connecting my MBox 2 to a receiver

you mean the L & R TRS outputs right? thats what i meant when i said monitor out. L&R TRS monitor outputs to RCA CD\DVD in the receiver(the cable i tried is working fine with other stuff to, like connecting a turntable with RCA line otputs to both my TRS(line) inputs in the MBox2 . im sorry if i confused you, im kindda new to pro tools. any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-11-2009, 09:49 AM
volanto volanto is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: connecting my MBox 2 to a receiver

as i said, im a newbe in pro tools. so lets say i didnt check everything before i tried to hear anything, but it works fine now. thanks alot!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo receiver as power amp? bassmac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 06-03-2021 08:14 AM
Connecting A DI/Pre-amp Into Mbox 3 Pro bdam123 General Discussion 9 02-22-2012 02:38 PM
Q about connecting ISA One to Mbox 3 Pro persuader Pro Tools 9 4 11-30-2011 08:40 AM
ADAT Outputs to AV Receiver......Possible? The Dougfather Post - Surround - Video 3 10-15-2010 06:00 PM
what transmitter / receiver should i buy for UM-2s SamuelAdams 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-08-2006 11:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com