Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2008, 09:20 PM
guitar012001 guitar012001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 211
Default TC Electronic Tube-Tech CL1B is phenomenal!

Started using Tube-Tech CL1B today. This plugin smokes a lot of compressor's out there today! It's tough getting a demo from TC's website lately. But, when you can, try the demo. You will not be disappointed when using it on vocals, bass, drums, 2-buss, and anything else. This emulated plugin can do it. There are some reviews on Mixonline, EQ magazine, and Sound On Sound. I dig this plugin!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2008, 03:02 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,712
Default

Yeah it's a decent plugin. No other software compressor getting close to it!
The problem with many software compressors is following:
1. They are often not transparent even on very light compression.
2. They become colorful, grainy, digital and overall unpredictable on medium compression setting.
3. Attack and release time become very sensible or smearing and dependable to ratio and threshold setting and often remain just workable but never really good.

This is not the case with this compressor. I can only compare this one with a real thing like Tube Tech CL 1 B. I don't know why, but it sounds to my ears also similar to Urei LA4 especially at gentle compression settings. I mean it's transparent behaving.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2020.12 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
MTRX Studio + MOM ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2008, 04:25 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default

I too, really really love this compressor. It is great for adding character to the sound. Having this and Waves' C1 in library is about ALL a Mixer needs when talking dynamics.

If you cant get it done with those - you cant get it done at all
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2008, 05:04 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 25ghosts View Post
I too, really really love this compressor. It is great for adding character to the sound. Having this and Waves' C1 in library is about ALL a Mixer needs when talking dynamics.

If you cant get it done with those - you cant get it done at all
Waves C1?
Well I may compare TC Tube Tech to McDSP CompressorBank and Channel G, or Serato Dynamics or Sonnox Dynamics....but C1???
For me C1 always sounds digital and harsh, although it pretends to be transparent (comparing to Renaisanse). Honestly it was my compressor as well before all the good stuff was out. But today I find my self using it on a very rare basis next to never.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2020.12 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
MTRX Studio + MOM ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-09-2008, 05:14 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoorevich View Post
Waves C1?
Well I may compare TC Tube Tech to McDSP CompressorBank and Channel G, or Serato Dynamics or Sonnox Dynamics....but C1???
For me C1 always sounds digital and harsh.
Ditto

Cold, sterile and no redeeming features what ever! totally chacter-less.
But 25G seems to rave about it at every opportunity
Maybe he just got use to the sound of the Logic compressors

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-09-2008, 05:23 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Ditto

Cold, sterile and no redeeming features what ever! totally chacter-less.
But 25G seems to rave about it at every opportunity
Maybe he just got use to the sound of the Logic compressors

Chris
Not to getting to personal preferences... But I think that CL 1 B can be also strerile and cold like you said, but also getting some brightness and soft (pastel) color when pushing a bit harder, without sounding agressive. I can add myself color and carachter if I need it. Thats what I like in it.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2020.12 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
MTRX Studio + MOM ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-09-2008, 05:33 AM
modulo2008 modulo2008 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 110
Default

I'm using CL1B TDM & I love it. But iy has BUG with 96k sessions. When I insert 96k sessions,Sound was silence & level meter keep left (not working mode). 48k & 44.1k session is no problem. Let me know if everyone have info.
__________________
Mac Pro "Westmere" 12-core 2.6G (mid 2012 / 128G Ram) / OS 10.14.6
Pro Tools HDX2 (v2020.12) & UAD-2 Octo + Quad (v9.13.0)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-09-2008, 07:19 AM
Bo Walker Bo Walker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Amersham, UK
Posts: 171
Default

I had some problems here with the CL1B demo - it was intermittent, I could use it sometimes then other times it just would not pass audio; didn't matter what sample rate of the session was - I could never identify a specific issue that made it behave like that.

In the end I contacted TC Support but they never replied so I never bought the plug-in.

Shame as it sounds great and I own a few TC plug-ins which don't give that kind of issue. But until someone sorts it out I can't afford to ruin my clients sessions using it in case it fails again.

I remember in another thread someone else mentioned this issue and it is commented upon over at the TC forum (not by anyone from TC).

Anyone know if there was ever a solution to the problem? There has been no update to the installer that I can see.

I am on Intel Mac 3GHZ Octo. PT 7.4cs5 MacOS 10.4.11 HD3 Accel w/8GB Ram and as I said all my other TC plugs (MD3, VSS, DVR, MasterX) work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-09-2008, 09:13 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoorevich View Post
Not to getting to personal preferences... But I think that CL 1 B can be also strerile and cold like you said, but also getting some brightness and soft (pastel) color when pushing a bit harder, without sounding agressive. I can add myself color and carachter if I need it. Thats what I like in it.

Well, there isn't ONE TDM compressor that I dont own. The ONLY one doing exactly what I tell it to do is the C1. ALL the others portray milliseconds on their attack and release but it has NOTHING to do with the actual values. C1 is THE most precise compressor on the planet. It does exactly what you ask of it. If it sounds sterile and harsh when you use it - then with all due ...... you are using it wrong or feeding it sterile material.

It is a dynamic tool. Nothing else, these days lots of producers expect a compressor to be a mix saver. It aint - all it does is to Automatically ride the gain according to a few parameter set by it's operator.

It took me about 8 years to fully comprehend(well in my dying bed I will probably still wander the myths of compression) the concept of a compressor - I had the C1 sitting in the Unused Plugs folder for 8 years. Now that I do understand what a compressor CAN do the C1 is the ONE I use ALL the time. Funny and paradox is that I always used to tell people that the C1 sounded like crap. Well it does not - and the only thing crappy about it was my prior opinion about it.

Today people buy into this RETRO MODELED - compressors like LA-2A and Fairchild and and and - I own many of those original pieces and I promise you this: The modeled pieces are sounding NOTHING NOTHING NOTHING like the originals.

The only reason they sell is that people have heard (And never actually used themselves) about the legendary Fairchild etc etc etc - and they think by buying the modeled plug their mix is going to be the greatest

The sooner they understand that a compressor is an Automated Audio Engineer the sooner they'll quit buying the hype and start listening to what compression really is.
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-09-2008, 09:16 AM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Ditto

Cold, sterile and no redeeming features what ever! totally chacter-less.
But 25G seems to rave about it at every opportunity
Maybe he just got use to the sound of the Logic compressors

Chris
Cris, you speak of a compressor as would it be an EQ - they SOUND

I dont want my compressor to alter my sound - I merely want it to reduce a few peaks here and there...

If a vocalist or guitarist need a compressor to make them groove - well maybe they aint quite there yet.
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Vintage Tube-Tech CL1a (pre-CL1b) Patheticus Buy & Sell 0 05-30-2012 03:21 PM
Tube-Tech CL1B repairs in NYC? WildHoney Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-11-2010 08:31 PM
Tube-Tech CL 1B NewVersion 1.1.1.1 K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-10-2008 11:35 PM
TC Electronic CL1B TDM modulo2008 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-10-2008 02:18 AM
New Tube-Tech CL 1B plugin for HD ! Dutchmuzik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 03-29-2007 03:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com