Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2018, 06:11 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,861
Default HD I/O jumps to unlocked 192k when PT shuts down

I just noticed this happening today... never seen it before.

Once I shut ProTools down, the HD I/O acts like it's lost all Loop Sync and throws itself to 192k instead of 44.1 where we've been forever. Of course when this happens, the SyncHD gives an error that nothing is locked and the digital outputs feeding our monitor system start popping (Durrough meters show it very obviously).

Anyway, got too late in the day to check things thoroughly but will get further into it on Monday.

BTW, I did try locking to Wordclock, which is also being fed from the SyncHD to multiple devices in the room... nothing changed when I shut down.

We do have three other rooms with the exact config, and I will check them on Monday for the same symptoms.


System specs are as follows:

Mac Pro Tower (last version... 2012?)
12-core 2.4GHz with 40GB RAM
OS 10.12
ProTools 2018.3 (with updated HD drivers)
Latest SyncHD firmware

Haven't checked for a firmware update for the HD I/O


Any thoughts?
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2018, 01:39 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,582
Default Re: HD I/O jumps to unlocked 192k when PT shuts down

Mine does the same thing. HD I/O and Apogee Symphony.

You could try setting the sample rate in Audio MIDI setup app??

Been meaning to try this.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2018, 08:15 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,954
Default Re: HD I/O jumps to unlocked 192k when PT shuts down

There was a recent (last 6 months) thread about this, but can't remember if there was a solution, and don't have time to find it right now.

My rig does this too, seemingly randomly, but it doesn't really cause any issues here so I haven't spent any time trying to figure out a way to prevent it - perhaps Avid's coreaudio app might be a place to start?

Anyway, you're definitely not the only one.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2021.3 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2018, 09:13 AM
29CountsNY's Avatar
29CountsNY 29CountsNY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Posts: 555
Default Re: HD I/O jumps to unlocked 192k when PT shuts down

Not sure why it happens but you can change the sample rate back to whatever you want if you go into the coreaudio app.
It’s been happening to me for awhile.
__________________
www.montabonsound.com
www.29counts.com

Pro Tools HD 2019.12 | HD Native PCIe & HD Native Thunderbolt | Lynx Aurora 16 HD | HD I/O | Digi 192 | 2010 Mac Pro 12 Core 3.46ghz | macOS Mojave 10.14.4 | 48 gigs RAM | Tascam DM3200 | Crane Song Avocet II | Antelope Isochrone OCX | Universal Audio Quad & Duo | Waves Mercury + Studio Classics v10 & Abbey Road Collection
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2018, 10:20 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: HD I/O jumps to unlocked 192k when PT shuts down

I will look at that. Thanks for the reply... it's not really a problem but seeing the Durroughs 'bouncing' out of the corner of my eye kinda bugs me.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unlocked Volume KasticK Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 01-02-2008 04:02 PM
Sample Rate "unlocked" nollynixon Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 09-16-2005 07:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com