Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2010, 08:40 AM
jacknprewitt jacknprewitt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 26
Default Pro Tools 9.0 "Updater" or "Full Installer"?

Hi all!

I was successful in registering my ilok and also registering my LE8-to-PT9 Crossgrade on Avid's website. There are two choices for downloading Pro Tools 9---"Updater" and "Full Installer"?

What's the difference between the two downlad versions and why would I want---or be entitled to---one versus the other?

Jack Prewitt
Rochester, NY
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2010, 08:52 AM
mix109 mix109 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 618
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0 "Updater" or "Full Installer"?

Hi Jack,
The Full Installer option inlcudes the Digidesign Creative Collection Folder(Xpand2,Mini Grand,Boom,Structure Free which sizes apx 2.8GB)
Therefore the size difference 4210.78(Full) versus 1815.03(Updater)__For MacOSX
Perhaps it is safer to do an uninstall of 8 and do the Full Install.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2010, 09:25 AM
Elogical4now Elogical4now is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 28
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0 "Updater" or "Full Installer"?

I installed the Updater. I already had PT LE 8 installed. The update went smooth as butter and I haven't had any problems.

However, Judging from what I've read lots of people elect to do a complete uninstall, then do the full install of 9.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2010, 10:33 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,146
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0 "Updater" or "Full Installer"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elogical4now View Post
I installed the Updater. I already had PT LE 8 installed. The update went smooth as butter and I haven't had any problems.

However, Judging from what I've read lots of people elect to do a complete uninstall, then do the full install of 9.
+1. Same experience here.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.5.1 running Protools 2021.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-23-2010, 10:38 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0 "Updater" or "Full Installer"?

As a general rule, I'd do an install over an update. Digi does recommend a full install with PT9.

I did an uninstall and then an install and everything work out well.

Digi also recommends installing the hardware drivers first.

And after installation, search and destroy any incompatible plugs.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-23-2010, 08:24 PM
formfunction formfunction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0 "Updater" or "Full Installer"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Park Seward View Post

And after installation, search and destroy any incompatible plugs.
Now that is best advice to be had!!! It may take a few minutes, but well worth the time. ff
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-23-2010, 09:39 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,033
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0 "Updater" or "Full Installer"?

One update and one complete install (a new computer) - both work equally well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Park Seward View Post
And after installation, search and destroy any incompatible plugs.
Why do we still not have an app, or a function within ProTools, which does this automatically, at least a function informing us when a plugin is out-of-date.

Each plugin manufacturer registers their updates via Avid (using their simple web interface), and ProTools communicates with this database (when asked to) and finds mismatches within your plugin folder. An auto-updater which downloads the appropriate version would be keen (a la Version Tracker), but a simple heads-up would be great.

If the manufacturers couldn't be responsible enough to keep the database up-to-date on their own, it would only entail a couple hours of work each week by a guy sitting at a laptop searching the web. Yeah, that's what assistant engineers are supposed to do, but do they?

This would be pretty simple folks. Let's go!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-24-2010, 08:47 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,391
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0 "Updater" or "Full Installer"?

As far as Avid plug-ins I did see a not-compatible plugin pop-up for one BF and older dynamic II. They were auto-moved out of the Plug-in folder.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 03:04 PM
I can´t find the "Pro Tools 9 full installer" in my AVID account anymore Alfa_Heal Windows 0 02-08-2012 02:09 PM
Pro tools 9 crashes at startup "Bus error" in thread "MainThread", at address 0x0 danball macOS 2 09-26-2011 04:49 PM
PT9 LE crossgrade - "Full" or "Updater"? Willie Myers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 04-19-2011 08:28 AM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com