Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2010, 01:42 AM
lugg0 lugg0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
Default M Box 2 and new iMac

Hey all,

so I have read a million threads, vids, tutorials etc on how to install my M box 2 on my new iMac but nothing seems to be working. Im running snow leopard 10.6.1 on 21.5" iMac and have a logitech 5.1 sound system.. All I want to do is hook up my M Box 2 to play audio. Currently sound system is running into composite audio cables into back of M Box 2 with that hooked through USB to iMac.. Tried Pro Tools 8, tried Pro Tools 7.4 and Core Audio driver 7.4.2

Should not be this hard to hook up output sound alone. Thanks in advance for any help!

ps, sorry im pretty new at the audio side so I could very well be doing something very wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2010, 02:24 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: M Box 2 and new iMac

Quote:
Originally Posted by lugg0 View Post
Hey all,

so I have read a million threads, vids, tutorials etc on how to install my M box 2 on my new iMac but nothing seems to be working. Im running snow leopard 10.6.1 on 21.5" iMac and have a logitech 5.1 sound system.. All I want to do is hook up my M Box 2 to play audio. Currently sound system is running into composite audio cables into back of M Box 2 with that hooked through USB to iMac.. Tried Pro Tools 8, tried Pro Tools 7.4 and Core Audio driver 7.4.2

Should not be this hard to hook up output sound alone. Thanks in advance for any help!

ps, sorry im pretty new at the audio side so I could very well be doing something very wrong
Welcome to the DUC/AFF.

So, I'm gonna go out on a limb and guess that "a million" is a bit of an exaggeration, since there are so many things wrong with your setup...

First off... you'd be better off posting about Pro Tools LE in the LE section of these forums. Unless, of course, you are trying to install M-Powered with an M-Box, which would also be a significant error.

Aside from that... I'm not sure what you mean by "composite" cables... but if you're talking about RCAs... (like what your TV might use for audio), those on an M-Box will not output to a logitech speaker system. You also NEVER want to install the standalone core audio drivers with Pro Tools installed.

Moving on... 10.6.1 is not qualified for any version of Pro Tools. You want at least 10.6.2... and Pro Tools 8.0.3. CoreAudio drivers are already included in installation.

You're going to want some actual monitors for your audio output. Computer speakers aren't designed to output from recording devices, but from the little mini-jacks on a computer. A 5.1 system is also wasted on an M-Box since you can only get stereo output.

Honestly, I would recommend reading up on the fundamentals of digital audio before anything else, or at least a good chat with with the pro audio guy at your local music shop on how to set up a proper recording system.

It's not to say that it's particularly difficult to get sound out of an M-Box, but if you don't understand how the sound is coming through the device, you'll have far more problems than knowing which software version to use.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tranferring Protools 10 from old iMac to new IMac JuergenTilak Pro Tools 10 3 07-31-2012 08:48 AM
iMac For PT9? Bill Denton Pro Tools 9 2 11-17-2010 07:25 PM
24in iMac or 21.5 iMac??? Help the blast 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-30-2010 05:19 PM
sync iMac with 003 and iMac with Mbox2? Jussi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-09-2009 03:24 PM
Imac elpumita 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-18-2008 06:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com