Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2021, 11:00 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,813
Default Eucon 2021.10.0.96 Fill Channel Strips Broken?

Since I have updated to the new version, I am running into a frustrating and weird behavior that I didn't have previously and I have been through the General and Preferences multiple times and I can't find a setting that could get things back to where they were.

Basically, If I scroll all the way to the right to the point that there are blank channels, I could previously continue to function that way and select tracks and all the tracks would stay stationary.

Now, when I scroll to the right and have blank channels, if I select one of the tracks, all the tracks shift so that it fills the full surface with the last track being channel 16.

I find this completely frustrating as I usually have touch enabled to select tracks and I commonly shift end tracks to be controllable with my faders further to the left. But now, if there are any blank spaces and I touch the fader to ride automation, the S3 immediately shifts tracks and suddenly I am controlling a different track with the same fader.

Does anyone know how I can change the behavior back so that it doesn't automatically adjust to fill all faders with the tracks?

Here is a snapshot of my current settings in General and Preferences.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2021-11-11 at 10.57.03 PM.jpg (42.7 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2021-11-11 at 10.57.11 PM.jpg (34.1 KB, 0 views)
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2021.10
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.16.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio

Last edited by Dizzi45Z; 11-12-2021 at 09:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2021, 02:01 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,655
Default Re: Eucon 2021.10.0.96 Different Frustrating Behavior

Hi,

do you have "always fill channel strips when banking" in PT prefs on?

F.
__________________
PTHDn 2021.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2021, 09:03 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Eucon 2021.10.0.96 Different Frustrating Behavior

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
Hi,

do you have "always fill channel strips when banking" in PT prefs on?

F.

I thought that might be the preference too. But I have it unchecked. It seems into have the same behavior checked or unchecked. Maybe this preference is broken?

I just updated the name of the post to be related to possibly having this preference the issue.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2021.10
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.16.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio

Last edited by Dizzi45Z; 11-12-2021 at 09:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2021, 09:27 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Eucon 2021.10.0.96 Different Frustrating Behavior

So with troubleshooting this further, I went to Pro Tools 2021.7 with Eucon 2021.10.0.96 and it is having the same issue. So it seems to be a Eucon thing. I would love to reinstall back to an earlier Eucon installer, but the only one I have before that is 2020_11_1. Was there one between that one and this new one?
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2021.10
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.16.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2021, 09:44 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Eucon 2021.10.0.96 Fill Channel Strips Broken?

So I have now installed the earlier Eucon 2020_11_1 and the issue no longer happens in Pro Tools 2020.10. I compared preferences and they are all exactly the same. I still don't see any differences when "Always Fill Channel Strips when Banking" is on or off, but at least the surface isn't jumping around as I use it.

I hope others notice this issue so that it can be resolved in a future Eucon update.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2021.10
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.16.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-14-2021, 09:00 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,469
Default Re: Eucon 2021.10.0.96 Fill Channel Strips Broken?

This is fixed on 21.10.1 coming this week
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-14-2021, 10:31 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Eucon 2021.10.0.96 Fill Channel Strips Broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
This is fixed on 21.10.1 coming this week
Thank you!

Out of curiousity, do you know if there will ever be an option to have Komplete Kontrol function separately from Eucon devices? Since Komplete Kontrol follows different rules (for example requiring selected tracks to be part of the first 1-8 control), it would be really nice to not require that they share the first 8 channels.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2021.10
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.16.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-18-2021, 09:06 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Eucon 2021.10.0.96 Fill Channel Strips Broken?

I installed EUCON_WorkstationUnifiedInstallMac_2021_10_1_29 this morning and the problem is fixed.

Thank you!
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2021.10
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.16.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eucon 2021? garnoil Artist Series 2 09-24-2021 09:57 AM
EUCON 2021.6 released EddieJones Avid S4/S6 9 07-06-2021 08:52 AM
EUCON 2021.6 Now Available Avid Technical Alerts 0 06-29-2021 12:12 PM
PT 2021 I/O Behavior Has Changed paul_g Pro Tools 2021 0 03-26-2021 07:38 PM
Eucon behavior ctv mtl Post - Surround - Video 2 11-11-2016 08:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com