Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2023, 01:57 PM
Bill0287 Bill0287 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 181
Default How do I preview Expand2 sounds?

Say I don't have a midi keyboard attached or a midi track ready, how would I play a sample sound while only looking at the Expand2 UI?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2023, 09:00 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,004
Default Re: How do I preview Expand2 sounds?

With Xpand!2 inserted on an Instrument Track and Preset/s selected, you can play Xpand!2 using Pro Tools MIDI Keyboard (Shift + K)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MIDI Keyboard.JPG (36.6 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Pro Tools Studio 2024.3 * SSL UC-1 * Digidesign Command 8 * TECH 21 SansAmp 2.0 * Xvive U3 2.4Ghz Wireless Microphone * Fender 30 & Champ 12 valve amps * M-Audio Axiom Pro 49 * PreSonus Speakers & Monitor Station V2 * Lenovo W520 laptop Type 427637U (32 GB RAM) with extra-Ports Dock + SSDs: 2 @ Samsung T5 + 1 @ Samsung T7 * 3 Screens: 15.6” Laptop + 24” BENQ GL2450-B + Samsung 27” CT550 curved Monitor * best Wife!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2023, 03:51 PM
Bill0287 Bill0287 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 181
Default Re: How do I preview Expand2 sounds?

Hmm. Not sure I am doing this right. I opened the Singer Songwriter template, opened the Xpand2! plugin for drums, opened the midi keyboard, and I got piano sounds, not drum sounds? What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2023, 04:46 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,004
Default Re: How do I preview Expand2 sounds?

When selecting Xpand!2 Presets, I find this way easier to read:

Under ‘Preset’ up top, hit the button between ‘+’ and ‘COMPARE’

Use the drop-down arrow to get to your category, select a Preset then hit the blue ‘Done’ button
__________________
Pro Tools Studio 2024.3 * SSL UC-1 * Digidesign Command 8 * TECH 21 SansAmp 2.0 * Xvive U3 2.4Ghz Wireless Microphone * Fender 30 & Champ 12 valve amps * M-Audio Axiom Pro 49 * PreSonus Speakers & Monitor Station V2 * Lenovo W520 laptop Type 427637U (32 GB RAM) with extra-Ports Dock + SSDs: 2 @ Samsung T5 + 1 @ Samsung T7 * 3 Screens: 15.6” Laptop + 24” BENQ GL2450-B + Samsung 27” CT550 curved Monitor * best Wife!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ALl Expand2 Virtual Instruments sound like a guitar thomasjbs Pro Tools 10 2 02-05-2016 05:53 PM
Is there any upgraded version of EXPAND2 ? klyg Pro Tools 10 3 02-12-2012 07:16 PM
Expand2 patch scrolling. chobbs Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-20-2009 07:58 AM
Expand2. Where is reference Guide? dhmusic Virtual Instruments 1 05-12-2009 08:33 AM
ableton live preview sounds SNAPPER 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-23-2004 06:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com