Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2013, 12:31 PM
johnsimmons johnsimmons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Londinium
Posts: 288
Default Track Preset hack - PT11 edition

What a chaotic day ! But here's a ray of sunshine for those that managed to install and get the assets for 11


Track Preset Hack seems to work in 11, albeit slightly differently. Great , as this had become a big part of my workflow.

Mac for me -

Right click Pro Tools (64 version) icon
Show Package Contents
Open folder Contents
Down to "Shared Support"
then open "Factory Content"
Create a new folder in there exactly named "Track Presets"
In that create your folders e.g. "Synth Setup"
and in that have your session template .ptxt file you've exported or converted

Folder contents sessions then appear as an option on the New Track menu

So pretty much the same methodology as before but a new place.

I did this on the trial btw (first thing I tried!). Thanks avid

Last edited by johnsimmons; 06-22-2013 at 01:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2013, 12:47 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Track Preset hack - PT11 edition

yep...there's a new location for this on the W7/W8 side too. i cannot recall new location offhand...not at rig. will post back if no one else post new location...
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2013, 03:33 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default Re: Track Preset hack - PT11 edition

Subscribing....Thanks I was under the impression that this was a no-op....


I wonder if they put the info in the ref manual
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2013, 05:08 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Track Preset hack - PT11 edition

the default location for this in W7/W8 is...

Documents Library>Pro Tools or

Documents and Settings\(user)\My Documents\Pro Tools (for absolute path)

and remember this is user definable in Prefs.
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2013, 05:23 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,917
Default Re: Track Preset hack - PT11 edition

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregJ View Post
Here's the path for the Track Presets Folder in Windows 7:

C:
Program Files
Avid
Pro Tools
Factory Content

Place the folder titled "Track Presets" inside the Factory Content folder.

I did a copy/paste of my Track Presets folder that I already setup in PT 10.

Hope this helps.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mykhal c View Post
the default location for this in W7/W8 is...

Documents Library>Pro Tools or

Documents and Settings\(user)\My Documents\Pro Tools (for absolute path)

and remember this is user definable in Prefs.
So which one is it?
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.3.2) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-2013, 05:30 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Track Preset hack - PT11 edition

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedhed View Post
So which one is it?
it's what i said...but you can define it to be whatever. check Prefs...you'll see then...
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2013, 05:40 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,917
Default Re: Track Preset hack - PT11 edition

k thanx.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.3.2) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-23-2013, 04:04 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,753
Default Re: Track Preset hack - PT11 edition

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsimmons View Post
What a chaotic day ! But here's a ray of sunshine for those that managed to install and get the assets for 11


Track Preset Hack seems to work in 11, albeit slightly differently. Great , as this had become a big part of my workflow.

Mac for me -

Right click Pro Tools (64 version) icon
Show Package Contents
Open folder Contents
Down to "Shared Support"
then open "Factory Content"
Create a new folder in there exactly named "Track Presets"
In that create your folders e.g. "Synth Setup"
and in that have your session template .ptxt file you've exported or converted

Folder contents sessions then appear as an option on the New Track menu

So pretty much the same methodology as before but a new place.

I did this on the trial btw (first thing I tried!). Thanks avid
Thank you greatly! I started another thread here on this: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p...16#post2051916 and it was driving me nuts considering how much PT11 (demo here as well) shared in preferences and folder locations with PT10. Does the same process for creating them work in PT11 as it did in 10?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-24-2013, 05:36 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,753
Default Re: Track Preset hack - PT11 edition

I give up. I followed the instructions about adding a folder called Track Presets as in the first post in this thread. I then copied over all the presets and folder structure I have for PT10 to this new folder, effectively having two folders with the same presets but one for PT10 and one for PT11. Those all work fine.

Where I'm having a problem is in creating new ones from inside PT11. No matter what technique I use to create the new preset (there's actually a couple of techniques) when I go to save it and go to create a new track with the just created preset that new preset can't be found. Thing is you can't navigate to the newly created Track Presets folder from within a normal Finder window you have to dive through the procedure outlined above. So I tried creating an alias to the newly created Track Presets folder but saving via that path doesn't work. I can see the new preset there but it doesn't appear when I go to create a new track.

The two techniques I talked about above that work for me in PT10 are to either save selected track as a template or to save the selected track as a new session and then go in via Finder and change the extension to .ptxt

Edit for additional:
I was able to see the newly created track in the New Track window but had to quit PT11 and then restart. Don't have to do that in PT10. What a pain in the arse.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!

Last edited by musicman691; 06-24-2013 at 05:40 AM. Reason: additional info
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-24-2013, 06:13 AM
mrjohn mrjohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 124
Default Re: Track Preset hack - PT11 edition

Thanks for the tip! After creating the Track Presets folder and before adding any presets I noticed that in myusername/Documents/Pro Tools there is a folder called Track Presets. So I put them in there and it worked!

Don't know if that folder was there before though as I hadn't looked. If it is there by default then that would seem easier than opening up the package and messing with that.

John
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x 2.8GHz Quad
OSX 10.10.5, PTHD 12.4.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Track preset Hack questions Suke Tips & Tricks 2 01-12-2016 04:26 PM
Can't see Channel Strip plugin controls (Track, Preset, Auto Map, Bypass, etc). DJ Hellfire macOS 9 05-09-2015 08:38 AM
How are you using the track presets 'hack'? kmoneybts Tips & Tricks 2 09-02-2013 03:56 AM
PT10 Track Preset mehrdadp Eleven Rack 1 12-16-2011 01:21 AM
record preset drums beats on a instrument track. Need help K2warcrew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-03-2007 11:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com