Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2011, 12:06 PM
edisonmusic edisonmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default Pro Tools Update 9.0.5 Help! Midi Killed

I updated to Pro Tools 9.0.5 yesterday. I am running OSX 10.6.8. Midi is not working correctly. I have a Yamaha Controller hooked by USB to the Mac. If I make an instrument track with the plug in and play the keyboard I see nothing (usually there's an indicator of midi activity). When I record on the track notes appear but the plug in does not react i.e. no sound. On playback the midi notes I just recorded play on the plug in.

I have trashed the prefs, downloaded the latest midi driver from Avid, tried removing plug ins (I did update a few that were causing other troubles namely Flux and Isotope). The Audio-Midi driver shows the correct midi setup including my interfaces. Please help! I need midi to work.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2011, 12:51 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,807
Default Re: Pro Tools Update 9.0.5 Help! Midi Killed

I have been seeing this in my studio lately too and it has been extremely annoying. I'm not sure where it came from. I am on 8.1.1, so it may not necessarily be a 9.0.5 issue.

For me, I find that I usually solve the problem by going to my Audio Midi Set-up and even though I will see my device there, it will only start working again in Pro Tools when I click on the "Rescan MIDI" icon. Then things seem to work again.

Let us know if that temporarily solves the problem. It still pops up on me quite a bit.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2021.10
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.16.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2011, 07:22 AM
daneppel daneppel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Default Re: Pro Tools Update 9.0.5 Help! Midi Killed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
I have been seeing this in my studio lately too and it has been extremely annoying. I'm not sure where it came from. I am on 8.1.1, so it may not necessarily be a 9.0.5 issue.

For me, I find that I usually solve the problem by going to my Audio Midi Set-up and even though I will see my device there, it will only start working again in Pro Tools when I click on the "Rescan MIDI" icon. Then things seem to work again.

Let us know if that temporarily solves the problem. It still pops up on me quite a bit.
I'm having the exact same issue. VERY annoying. I just upgraded to 9.0.5. Must be a bug. Avid, any ideas???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2011, 10:35 AM
daneppel daneppel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Default Re: Pro Tools Update 9.0.5 Help! Midi Killed

Avid...are you out there?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-11-2011, 03:29 PM
DNewburn DNewburn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 9
Exclamation Re: Pro Tools Update 9.0.5 Help! Midi Killed

I'm having the same issue. It seems to be a 10.6.8 issue based on what I'm hearing from you guys... I have a show on Friday and I'm about to not have midi tracks for it... very very bad...... Also, I have not been able to get it to play back at all.

-------------------------
MacBook 13" 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2 GB ram, 500GB Hard disk
OSX 10.6.8
ProTools 9.0.5

Last edited by DNewburn; 09-11-2011 at 03:51 PM. Reason: additional information
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-12-2011, 01:07 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: Pro Tools Update 9.0.5 Help! Midi Killed

Have any of you tried trashing the specific MIDI preferences per the info in one of the replies in the General Troubleshooting thread? What about testing from a different admin account?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-13-2011, 11:57 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,807
Default Re: Pro Tools Update 9.0.5 Help! Midi Killed

DigiTechSupt,

Can you give us more information on what that MIDI preference file would be named, where to find it? I'm not sure if you are referring to Pro Tools preferences in general, or if you are referring to Apple's Preferences with Audio MIDI set-up. I looked through the General Troubleshooting page and I can't seem to find any information specific to MIDI preferences.

Also, as a side note, many of the links on the General Troubleshooting page are broken. I clicked on at least three informative links that lead to the "Looking for Digidesign" page. But beyond just the General Troubleshooting page, I see that page a lot when I am navigating around the Avid website.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2021.10
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.16.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-13-2011, 12:02 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,807
Default Re: Pro Tools Update 9.0.5 Help! Midi Killed

Actually, I just found it under the CoreAudio section. It looks like it is this one:

2. Mac HD > Users > (Your User Name) > Library > Preferences > com.apple.audio.AudioMIDISetup.plist (delete this file)

I am not at my computer right now, but I'll trash that when I get home and hope that it solves my problems.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2021.10
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.16.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-13-2011, 05:05 PM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 970
Default Re: Pro Tools Update 9.0.5 Help! Midi Killed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
Actually, I just found it under the CoreAudio section. It looks like it is this one:

2. Mac HD > Users > (Your User Name) > Library > Preferences > com.apple.audio.AudioMIDISetup.plist (delete this file)

I am not at my computer right now, but I'll trash that when I get home and hope that it solves my problems.
Also I would trash:
Macintosh HD / Users / (your user name) / Library / Audio / MIDI Configurations / Default.mcfg

Just in case it might not help, keep a copy of the Default.mcfg file *somewhere* which u could put back into the folder .... .... just in case some important Midi-cabelings (and infos) might get lost
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.13.2  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2021.3.1  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-14-2011, 03:34 PM
DNewburn DNewburn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools Update 9.0.5 Help! Midi Killed

Trashed preferences, but still didn't solve the issue. Midi signals are making it to ProTools, but the plug-ins are not seeing any midi commands. Also, there is no sound when pressing keys on the instrument tracks in the GUI.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iLok Manager Update killed my business. Dark Pines macOS 1 03-06-2014 01:24 PM
Old iLok 1 killed by software update BR Rundfunk macOS 3 02-27-2014 09:11 AM
8.1 update killed my SRC 1 (3-4) meter dcdave Post - Surround - Video 2 12-06-2010 03:29 PM
8.1 update killed my 3-4 meter dcdave Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-06-2010 09:54 AM
Help! 6.1.2 update killed my computer! jes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 10-15-2003 12:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com