Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-27-2021, 02:36 PM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 469
Default Can't launch since update to 2021.6

What's up Ducs...

I've been unable to launch PT at all since updating to 2021.6. I *think* it has something to do with my perpetual-renewal, which I bought via avid.com back in April, not working correctly, but I can't find any solutions in my Avid account.

I'm getting this message on launch:

Quote:
Select License to Activate
You don't have any licenses in your account, or none of your licenses have activations available, or their license limits will keep them from authorizing the software. If you have an iLok USB device with a license activated on it, please plug it in now.

You do not have any pending deliveries for the license(s) you need to authorize the software.

Click here if you need to purchase a license for Pro Tools Perpetual
I have my iLok plugged in, and there is a PT perpetual license, but it was deposited 5/5/20, rather than 5/5/21 when my renewal should have taken effect.

In my Avid account, I see my Software Updates + Support plan with an expiration of May 04, 2022, and the correct system ID & ilok ID.

Is there something I need to do to get iLok to see my renewed license? I have read everything I can find on avid.com and in the emails I received, and can find nothing...

btw this is happening identically on two systems, my m1 macbook air (16gb) and my mojave hackintosh (i9-9900k)

thanks for any help you can offer, i'm really at wit's end here.

~peter in athens
__________________
* Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme / Big Sur
* Macbook Air : M1 / 16gb / 1tb / Monterey
* PT 2021.12 / Ableton Suite 11.1
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter + Spitfire
* Focusrite Clarett 4pre / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-27-2021, 03:32 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,394
Default Re: Can't launch since update to 2021.6

You might want to check to make sure you have the latest version of ILM (Ilok Manager) and also be sure to sync your Ilok with the software.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 12.4 running Protools 2022.5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2021, 03:43 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,597
Default Re: Can't launch since update to 2021.6

^^^^^^^ (quicker than me to post!)

If you haven’t already:

In your Avid Master Account>My Products (bottom of page, LHS)
enter your Default iLok Account/Link your default iLok User ID
“Linked iLok.com accounts allow you to easily deposit activation licenses after purchasing new Pro Tools products and AAX plugins”

Also check Avid Master Account>My Products for ‘Products Not Yet Downloaded’

Download the latest iLok License Manager, check the “Available Licenses” tab.
If your new license is there, drag it to your iLok then Synchronize iLok

Or
Deactivate your (deposited 5/5/20) perpetual license, then Activate (return it to your iLok)
Synchronize iLok
__________________
Pro Tools 2022.5 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.5.2 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – 32 GB RAM - Lenovo W520 ThinkPad (4276-37U) & 433830U Dock – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s – Digidesign Command|8 - SSL UC1 - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 – Eris E 4.5 spkrs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2021, 03:57 PM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 469
Default Re: Can't launch since update to 2021.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
You might want to check to make sure you have the latest version of ILM (Ilok Manager) and also be sure to sync your Ilok with the software.
thanks for the suggestion. i'm on 5.3.3 GM which seems to be the latest version. Synchronizing my iLok 2 has no effect, unfortunately.
__________________
* Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme / Big Sur
* Macbook Air : M1 / 16gb / 1tb / Monterey
* PT 2021.12 / Ableton Suite 11.1
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter + Spitfire
* Focusrite Clarett 4pre / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-27-2021, 04:01 PM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 469
Default Re: Can't launch since update to 2021.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by unkJE View Post
^^^^^^^ (quicker than me to post!)

If you haven’t already:

In your Avid Master Account>My Products (bottom of page, LHS)
enter your Default iLok Account/Link your default iLok User ID
“Linked iLok.com accounts allow you to easily deposit activation licenses after purchasing new Pro Tools products and AAX plugins”

Also check Avid Master Account>My Products for ‘Products Not Yet Downloaded’

Download the latest iLok License Manager, check the “Available Licenses” tab.
If your new license is there, drag it to your iLok then Synchronize iLok

Or
Deactivate your (deposited 5/5/20) perpetual license, then Activate (return it to your iLok)
Synchronize iLok
thanks so much for the suggestions! i've tried all of those:
* my ilok account is correctly set in the avid master account
* my ilok license manager is the latest version (5.3.3 gm)
* no products not yet downloaded
* deactivating / reactivating the license has no effect

also: sending the license to the cloud and back to physical ilok has no effect, nor can i authorize via cloud while the license is in the cloud.
__________________
* Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme / Big Sur
* Macbook Air : M1 / 16gb / 1tb / Monterey
* PT 2021.12 / Ableton Suite 11.1
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter + Spitfire
* Focusrite Clarett 4pre / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-27-2021, 04:21 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,597
Default Re: Can't launch since update to 2021.6

Longshot:

(just in case you have a Cloud Session still open)

Sign in to your iLok account on the iLok License Manager
From File, click on Close Your Cloud Session

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...oud&popup=true
__________________
Pro Tools 2022.5 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.5.2 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – 32 GB RAM - Lenovo W520 ThinkPad (4276-37U) & 433830U Dock – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s – Digidesign Command|8 - SSL UC1 - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 – Eris E 4.5 spkrs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-27-2021, 04:34 PM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 469
Default Re: Can't launch since update to 2021.6

thanks again... i've never had a cloud session open (only ever used physical iloks). but i tried your suggestion, no luck.

i've just tried filing a ticket somewhere i ended up from the avid site (domain is c.na170.visual.force.com), though it's quite byzantine, and i'm not even sure it's for pro tools. if i hear anything i'll update here. but i'm not very optimistic about getting a response...



Quote:
Originally Posted by unkJE View Post
Longshot:

(just in case you have a Cloud Session still open)

Sign in to your iLok account on the iLok License Manager
From File, click on Close Your Cloud Session

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...oud&popup=true
__________________
* Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme / Big Sur
* Macbook Air : M1 / 16gb / 1tb / Monterey
* PT 2021.12 / Ableton Suite 11.1
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter + Spitfire
* Focusrite Clarett 4pre / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-27-2021, 04:46 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,597
Default Re: Can't launch since update to 2021.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by huzzam View Post
...i've just tried filing a ticket somewhere i ended up from the avid site (domain is c.na170.visual.force.com), though it's quite byzantine, and i'm not even sure it's for pro tools...
Could be different URLs for different areas - this is what I get when I Create a Case

Get a free ASC Code/Number from your Avid account:
Login to your Avid Master Account
Under “My Support Center” click on “Access the Support Center (Portal)”
This takes you to: https://na49.salesforce.com/500/o

Under “Select Case Record Type” click on the drop-down Menu and select “Audio” (if your problem is not “Video”)

In the 1st box, add a short description of your problem
In the 2nd box, select “Artist Suite – DAW”
In the 3rd box, select “Pro Tools” or “Pro Tools Ultimate” - or whichever choice applies to you
In the 4th box, select “Pro Tools | Software”
In the 5th box, select your Pro Tools version

Click on “Submit My Question”

You’ll be provided with a Case Number

“Post Reply” to your DUC Thread, include your Case Number to help Mods or Higher escalate your Case
__________________
Pro Tools 2022.5 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.5.2 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – 32 GB RAM - Lenovo W520 ThinkPad (4276-37U) & 433830U Dock – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s – Digidesign Command|8 - SSL UC1 - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 – Eris E 4.5 spkrs
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2021, 06:10 PM
taylor4814 taylor4814 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 477
Default Re: Can't launch since update to 2021.6

Pro Tools 2021.6
Win 10 Home | 21H1 | 19043.1081

I just had the same issue, after transferring licenses from iLok to Cloud for the first time...

After trying the above suggestions a couple of times, and then, finally re-booting computer and trying one more time, and now it finally launches.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-28-2021, 07:27 PM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 469
Default Re: Can't launch since update to 2021.6

Thanks everyone! I filed a case, and it turned out to be an error on Avid's end, where they hadn't sent the new license to iLok. They linked everything up correctly, and now it's launching!

thanks everyone for your help.

~peter in athens
__________________
* Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme / Big Sur
* Macbook Air : M1 / 16gb / 1tb / Monterey
* PT 2021.12 / Ableton Suite 11.1
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter + Spitfire
* Focusrite Clarett 4pre / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Editing Bug after 2021.3 Update colinato Post - Surround - Video 36 08-12-2021 06:51 AM
What happened to DSP plugins in 2021.6 update? Dot Pro Tools 11 06-27-2021 07:14 AM
Update hdx firmware from 2021.6 or need last version? arche3 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 06-25-2021 07:10 PM
Update to 2021.3.1 now midi and software unstable biggamen Pro Tools 9 06-03-2021 05:54 AM
Pro Tools 2021.3.1 Update Won’t Install MrOZ Pro Tools 4 04-22-2021 07:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com