Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2015, 01:15 PM
TeamContra's Avatar
TeamContra TeamContra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: El Paso
Posts: 42
Default (Hot Key) Selecting a Clip with out the Mouse!

I know Shift returns selects all the clips in a track in the edit window. But can I just select a single clip with a command with using the mouse?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2015, 02:46 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,438
Default Re: (Hot Key) Selecting a Clip with out the Mouse!

I'm not shure but, tab to clip start, then shift-tab, shouldn't that select the clip?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-2015, 03:10 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: (Hot Key) Selecting a Clip with out the Mouse!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamContra View Post
I know Shift returns selects all the clips in a track in the edit window. But can I just select a single clip with a command with using the mouse?
Pro Tools > Help > Pro Tools Shortcuts:
  • Go to and select next Clip: Control+Tab(Mac), Start+Tab(Win)
  • Go to and select previous Clip: Control+Option+Tab(mac), Start+Ctrl+Tab or Start+Ctrl(Win)
  • Move Edit Insertion Down: ";"
  • Move Edit Insertion Up: "P"

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-28-2015, 03:19 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,071
Default Re: (Hot Key) Selecting a Clip with out the Mouse!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
Pro Tools > Help > Pro Tools Shortcuts:
  • Go to and select next Clip: Control+Tab(Mac), Start+Tab(Win)
  • Go to and select previous Clip: Control+Option+Tab(mac), Start+Ctrl+Tab or Start+Ctrl(Win)
  • Move Edit Insertion Down: ";"
  • Move Edit Insertion Up: "P"

Shane
You know this depends on the keyboard you are using, right.
Its "a little" different on none U.S. keyboards. ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2015, 10:13 AM
TeamContra's Avatar
TeamContra TeamContra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: El Paso
Posts: 42
Default Re: (Hot Key) Selecting a Clip with out the Mouse!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
Pro Tools > Help > Pro Tools Shortcuts:
  • Go to and select next Clip: Control+Tab(Mac), Start+Tab(Win)
  • Go to and select previous Clip: Control+Option+Tab(mac), Start+Ctrl+Tab or Start+Ctrl(Win)
  • Move Edit Insertion Down: ";"
  • Move Edit Insertion Up: "P"

Shane

Awesome thanks!! Now what about selecting the whole track? Let's say I'm half way in the session and want to select all the clips? I know shift return selects everything from the cursor on back.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2015, 10:53 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,687
Default Re: (Hot Key) Selecting a Clip with out the Mouse!

You got the hint about the shortcuts guide by a moderator .
I think, you could start first looking more in that guide, maybe use the search function, type "select entire", before asking questions, that are easily self-answered.
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2015, 10:10 AM
Dan Smith's Avatar
Dan Smith Dan Smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 115
Default Re: (Hot Key) Selecting a Clip with out the Mouse!

Cmd/ctrl+A
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
track expands with mouse selecting it stevedresser83 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-17-2017 04:40 PM
Edit window moves on selecting clip tooold Pro Tools 11 3 12-02-2014 12:13 PM
Shortcut for selecting clip simonyeah Pro Tools 10 2 01-18-2014 12:43 PM
PT 10 | shortcut for selecting next/previous clip johannes1 Tips & Tricks 2 10-17-2013 03:34 AM
Selecting start of clip with Smart Tool pianosdr Pro Tools 10 3 12-27-2012 07:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com