Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2015, 11:47 AM
kylepyke kylepyke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 2
Default "Search in Selected Areas" not working. Also- conforming different Bit Depths?

Hey Guys,

I've seen some info on here about the "Search in selected areas" being buggy, but I'm wondering if anyone has found a workaround?

It seems like no matter what directory I choose for PT to search in, it always looks in the same folder.

For example, if I tell PT to search in folder A and expand matches, then switch to searching in folder B, it still expands matches from folder A (which don't exist in folder B).

It also seems to not like that my guide track references a 24 bit file, but the files I'm conforming are 32 bit float. Anyone had any luck conforming files at different bit depths?

From what I understand, the Field Recorder function should only look at timecode (and other match criteria) for conforming, while ignoring things like bit depth. Can anyone confirm?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2015, 01:42 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,720
Default Re: "Search in Selected Areas" not working. Also- conforming different Bit Depths?

There's one main flaw in the "areas to search" routine. You can not stop PT from matching also what's already in your session.

It has been a long time feature request to give us a "only search areas to search" or a "ignore clip list" feature to keep PT from matching again what's already in your session.

This causes a lot of work when expanding AVID AAF to their original BWAVs too.

Might be the reason for what you are seeing.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2021.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2015, 09:35 AM
JohnnyB JohnnyB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 21
Default Re: "Search in Selected Areas" not working. Also- conforming different Bit Depths?

We have abandoned PT11 for field recorder functions for this reason. PT10 works and that's what we use for conforming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Field recorder guide track "select areas to search" doesn´t work kwassen Post - Surround - Video 6 04-12-2017 11:53 PM
BRAND NEWBIE HERE: 1st error message - couldn't locate info in a "search" csrMark 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 02-16-2010 02:41 PM
"conforming" quicktime movies Dan Pinder Post - Surround - Video 9 03-11-2003 04:36 PM
Export selected as"Aiff" interleave doesn't works on Avid NT maxserg Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-31-2003 06:36 PM
I can't "Back" to Search results, after reading a message?? el biciclista General Discussion 0 06-15-2001 04:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com