Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2007, 10:24 AM
kickit kickit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 58
Default Save Copy In NOT deleting unused files!

I gop to the file menu & select select unused. Then clear selected. Then do a Save session in. All the files are still in the new copy folder. What's up? Should only be files that are used in session.

7.3.1cs4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2007, 05:49 PM
sleadley sleadley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 957
Default Re: Save Copy In NOT deleting unused files!

Yes, this is a bit of a problem if you actually look after you have done a clear unused and select a file that you know is not being used in a session you will get a message that the file is used in the session or in the undo Queue.
To be honest this does cause a lot of pain. We have sessions where I clear the audio by hand when doing a save session copy so that I get a small session with only the files I need.
There is a neat way to do it if you own Digidelivery. You can send a session with Timeline files only on the local network to yourself and this works well, but it would be best if a feature like this was built into Pro Tools to save session copy with Timeline files only.
Simon L.
__________________
Plan for the worst, Hope for the Best.
www.trackdown.com.au
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2007, 07:57 AM
Wolfgang Eller Wolfgang Eller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,131
Default Re: Save Copy In NOT deleting unused files!

I have to agree.
__________________
www.srs-mastering.de
Mac Pro 6.1-8core, OS 10.15, PT2021, HDX2, Sonnet Echo Express III-R, Madi Interface.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2007, 08:46 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Save Copy In NOT deleting unused files!

Select Unused (Command+Shift+U) and Remove Unused (Command+Shift+B) from your session first - this clears the undo queue and achieves what you want.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2007, 09:51 AM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,383
Default Re: Save Copy In NOT deleting unused files!

Wasn't kickit doing just that?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-30-2007, 09:52 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Save Copy In NOT deleting unused files!

Either he wasn't or he found a bug. It may also depend on timing - he should follow these steps one after the other immediately... so the undo buffer remains empty.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-30-2007, 11:24 AM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,825
Default Re: Save Copy In NOT deleting unused files!

Ever since 7.3.1 I have to do the clear unused regions sequence twice. It always reports more regions to delete after the first time.


Command-shift-U
Command -shift-B
Remove
Command-shift-U
Command-shift-B
Remove

never 3 times, but always twice. Removing the first bunch seems to reveal a lot more unused regions.
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2007, 12:56 PM
2fly 2fly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 296
Default Re: Save Copy In NOT deleting unused files!

And don't forget to delete unused playlists!
__________________
Alan
http://www.2flystudios.com
G5 2.5ppc, 4gb ram, OSX 10.5.8, PT8.0.1cs4
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-30-2007, 01:54 PM
trakbytes trakbytes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 846
Default Re: Save Copy In NOT deleting unused files!

Possibly related, I have come across this situation recently...

When trimming a region that has been previously edited, I'll sometimes have a section where I can't pull a region out past a certain point. When zooming in on the area and trimming the next region head, I'll find a tiny region hidden under the trimmed region. Just selecting that area, I often cannot delete it; it shows up as a single vertical line in the track. If I trim both the tail of previous region and head of the next region, I can select a longer section and then delete the offending "ghost" region. So, it appears as if PT is holding on to previous edits in the playlist, and will then duplicate the file that region belongs to when doing a "Save Copy".

I haven't tried to reproduce this, but it has happened on several sessions recently. I'm on version 7.3.1.

Bob
__________________
Save early and often! (or once a day whether you need to or not...)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-31-2007, 01:58 PM
dodlum dodlum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: France
Posts: 82
Default Re: Save Copy In NOT deleting unused files!

Just out of curiosity I checked this. Booted up the computer - opened pro tools and opened a large session I had been working on for a while.

I did shift + command + U followed by Shift command B and a lot of regions were removed. I did it again and more regions were removed. I did it once more and one more region was removed.

Then I saw a region that I knew was not being used in the session, so I tried to remove that manually but was told it was being used in a track or in the undo queue. Next I reopened the same session and did shift + command + U followed by Shift command B again, and this time it removed everything that shouldn't be there.

Until this thread I have never checked wether or not shift + command + U followed by Shift command B worked as I always presumed it did.

Something not quite right here, and hardly confidence inspiring.

David
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deleting unused files? Danny Winn Tips & Tricks 19 04-23-2020 08:05 AM
deleting unused files anth Pro Tools 10 1 03-25-2012 05:05 PM
deleting unused fade files der daniel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-17-2009 12:21 PM
Deleting unused audio files Beyond The Pale 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-15-2006 09:49 AM
Deleting unused, lost files, Bug or Me? flymax Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-08-2006 10:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com