Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2006, 07:49 AM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Buying my first soft sampler

I'm in the market for my first real soft sampler. I've read some threads around here about software stability with pro tools 7, but I'm just trying to get an overall sense on the best one to get.

1) Mach Five
2) Kontakt
3) Sampletank
4) Gigastudio (but I would have to buy a PC, so it has to be extra great)
5) Reason NNXT/NN19

I'm curious as to your thoughts on sound quality, stability, and ease of use. Stability is a big one. It seems that Kontakt has a larger sound library than, say, Sampletank, but I don't know if that really means anything. Since you can purchase expansion packs for most of these products, the quality of those would be a consideration too. I know I can demo most of these, but I'm looking for what the industry consensus on the subject is. As I sort of mentioned above, I'm running Pro tools 7.

Thanks everyone!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2006, 09:59 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: Buying my first soft sampler

Evaluate HOW you will use the sampler.

1. will you buy ready-made sample libraries Which libraries? What format do the libraries come in? Is there a samplerformat that the library works best in? (some libraries are programmed specifically for GS3, etc...)

2. do you need conversion from one format to another? not all import or convert all formats. All convert AKAI -- but not all convert EXS, etc...

There is something to be said for an external GS3 machine. but, I also own Mach5 and Kontak2. Each has its strengths. I use each when most appropriate, and I am VERY happy with all 3. I guess that's why I don't hate any of them, since I am not asking any one of them to do it all.

I would work backwards... analyze your needs first, then find the player for the samples you will use.

DON'T buy a sample player for the library... none of the bundle library is worth compromising your sample player for... pick the player that will best play/convert your library.

FINALLY -- now is a good time to analyze your RAM -- you probably need more if you are going to go the software sampler route.
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2006, 10:32 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,965
Default Re: Buying my first soft sampler

Reason sounds great, very stable, multi-channel rewires to PT, mature software, full-rack of virtual synths/efx/more in addition to the NNXT sampler, lots of 3rd party samples, relatively easy on the CPU... That's been my experience with it.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2006, 10:33 AM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Buying my first soft sampler

Get a external PC and run gigasampler. The mac/rtas stuff is good if you need to grab a couple of sounds but giga is for serious work.

rw
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:34 PM
MAXIMUSIC MAXIMUSIC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 702
Default Re: Buying my first soft sampler

Quote:
Get a external PC and run gigasampler. The mac/rtas stuff is good if you need to grab a couple of sounds but giga is for serious work.

rw
I second this advice, Giga is a serious sampler that will not bug-down your Protools.
Go for it, you won't regret it.
__________________
Life is good !!
Marcello Azevedo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:47 PM
kickit kickit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 58
Default Re: Buying my first soft sampler

I like Mach5. It is easy to use. I loaded my whole colection from my EMU EIV. Works great.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which soft sampler idris Tips & Tricks 2 01-18-2006 11:10 AM
Soft Sampler in PT 6.2.3 heromusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-13-2004 08:59 PM
Which soft sampler do you use with PT ?? krid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-16-2003 09:54 AM
What would be the perfect (Plugin, Soft Synth, Soft Sampler Library)? rtcstudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-16-2002 07:57 PM
best soft sampler with PT lukeyy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 10-16-2002 02:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com