Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2005, 07:26 AM
PhilBuckle PhilBuckle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 725
Default See grid lines through waveform

I could be the only one who likes this idea. I do a lot of editing. I always have a blank audio track underneath the track I'm editing.
This allows me to see the grid directly below so I can line things up.
I think it would be great to be able to select a "translucent waveform" via a key command so you could see the grid through the waveform..............that is the waveform goes to about 30% or 40% "see through"
There are more important things to wish for I guess.............but would anyone else find this handy?.
__________________
G5 Dual 2.7 OS 10.5.6 HD Accel 2 192+96 I/O
http://philbuckle.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2005, 07:45 AM
chrisk23 chrisk23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 143
Default Re: See grid lines through waveform

totally--ecspecially when your fine tuning the placement of a loose breakbeat or vocal--sometimes waveforms dont always fall on the grid---
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2005, 07:50 AM
soundeziner soundeziner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 262
Default Re: See grid lines through waveform

I'd like to see this too...or not see it...depending on how you look at it.
__________________
Todd A. Judge, MPSE
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:05 AM
Tony Shepperd Tony Shepperd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 346
Default Re: See grid lines through waveform

There was a thread about 4 months ago of wish list we wanted for PT 7. I personally told Dave Lebolt GM of Digidesign about "translucent waveforms", so I know it's definitely on the list of "wishes".

The other items on my list are:
• Transparent Waveforms. So you can see the grid underneath.

• In Tiger have a "dashboard effect" with the plugins.

• Have a "Open Recent" feature for files. Always chasing the last few sessions youv've worked on can be a pain in the butt.

• Also have a clear recent feature that always you to dump the most recent files.

• Volume trim dialog box. Select any number of tracks or region and "on the fly" raise or lower volume by "X" number of dB's.

• Complete the rest of the transport at the top of the edit page.

• Shortcut command for Bounce to Disc

• Option drag for the Aux channel

• Thanks to the L3, more delay compensation per channel.

• Take a good long look at Logic's midi and "borrow" 90% of it's features.

• Renumber the marker locations so they are in a logical order.

• Built in Masterlist CD with ID's for BTD

• Freeze track for RTAS plugins... i.e. Stylus RMX, Ivory....

• An archive function that allows you to know what plugins were used on the session and what tracks had what plugins. How many time have you started to mix a song and then found out the producer or artist is "married" to the one plugin you don't have.
__________________
Mixing in the box, requires thinking outside the box.

My New Instructional Mixing DVD 2 is Shipping
www.tonysound.com
http://twitter.com/tonysound
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:15 AM
sirpucho sirpucho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 194
Default Re: See grid lines through waveform

Nice one
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:29 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: See grid lines through waveform

Great list Tony.

I'd like to add the only feature in Logic that I miss which ' automatically create tracks in loop record'. i'd like to keep playing a lead guitar solo and get sub-tracks for each pass instead of "takes" which are concealed. Great for vocal comping too.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:52 AM
kickit kickit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 58
Default Re: See grid lines through waveform

Mian meters in top of edit page along with transport controls.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-14-2005, 09:29 AM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 635
Default Re: See grid lines through waveform

I am down for all these!
__________________
10.15.7 (19H15) Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools Ultimate 2021.3

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core ProTools Ultimate 2021.3, Apollo 8 Silver,TwinX.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-14-2005, 07:09 PM
PhilBuckle PhilBuckle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 725
Default Re: See grid lines through waveform

Quote:

• Have a "Open Recent" feature for files. Always chasing the last few sessions youv've worked on can be a pain in the butt.

• Also have a clear recent feature that always you to dump the most recent files.

I use the the catalog function for this. Make a new catalog and drag your latest sessions into it. It makes an alias of them and when you save it keeps them updated. So I have different folders in the catalog for the different albums I'm working on.
Easy to delete and you can choose to only delete the alias or the original.
The workspace features are very useful when you get into them.
__________________
G5 Dual 2.7 OS 10.5.6 HD Accel 2 192+96 I/O
http://philbuckle.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:24 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,863
Default Re: See grid lines through waveform

Sonic Solutions allowed you to grab a waveform and drag it on top of another while seeing BOTH waveforms blended together! As you would grab the one on the right to move it to the left, it would 'ghost' out, still showing outlines, allowing you to place MATCHING PEAKS perfectly in sync. If Sonic could do this with software that is 10+ years old, can't anyone else figure this out?!

I still have two Sonic systems that I just can't quite get rid of... and for good reason!!
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My grid lines are gone Makingamonster General Discussion 4 04-20-2010 06:27 AM
Grid lines gone SoundtrackArcade 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-20-2007 02:54 PM
grid lines cc1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-23-2006 11:15 AM
Grid lines Peter Groom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-14-2006 11:01 AM
can't see grid lines foo-bu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-30-2005 02:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com