Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2020, 06:33 PM
ryanbrubacher ryanbrubacher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 3
Default ProTools 2019.12 unable to launch without internet access

Hello all. Been a long time reader on this forum (been with ProTools since v5.3) but this is my first SOS post.

I’ve realized my current version of ProTools (2019.12) now cannot load without being connected to the internet. I have a perpetual license with current support plan. (Expiring in Dec of 2020). When I launch ProTools and my WIFI is active it boots completely as expected. When the computer is offline though ProTools will not launch. It just sits indefinitely pre the plugin scanning process. Does this version now call home to verify an active support plan before launch? If so is there any way for me to work offline only?

I tour with ProTools and cannot rely on having internet access to use the software.

Thanks everyone.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2020, 06:35 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,184
Default Re: ProTools 2019.12 unable to launch without internet access

Welcome to the community.

Pro Tools does not require internet access to run.

Are you using an iLok USB key?

There is an option to have your license in iLok Cloud - that does require persistent internet. Launch iLok License Manager, Close Your Cloud Session, Check For Application Updates (update if needed), Synchronize your iLok...
__________________

Last edited by jeffro; 02-10-2020 at 06:43 PM. Reason: More info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2020, 07:44 PM
ALowe ALowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 30
Default ProTools 2019.12 unable to launch without internet access

You may have your license set in the cloud instead of your ilok. Happened to me too.

I think that’s an annoying option.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2020, 09:49 PM
nedorama nedorama is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 649
Default Re: ProTools 2019.12 unable to launch without internet access

How are options annoying? You can choose to have them on your Mac, Cloud or iLok for many plugins. Choice is good, and iLok License Manager is very easy to change those options.
__________________
Regards,
Ned
Monkey Boy Studios
2019 16" MBP, 32GB, 1TB SSD; OSX 10.15.7; 4TB USB-C G-Tech External
Summit Audio 2BA-221, TLA-50 -->Focusrite 18i20 3rd Gen, Eleven Rack, Pro Tools 2021.3
Plugins, Virtual Instruments, and real ones
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2020, 04:54 AM
simonchase simonchase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 356
Default Re: ProTools 2019.12 unable to launch without internet access

Whats's annoying is that Pro Tools just sits there failing to boot instead of telling you what the issue is.

"Looking for cloud authorisation, would you like Pro Tools to authorise using local iloks?"

would be nice
__________________
PT Ultimate 2021.3.1 - MacOS 10.15.6 - MacBook Pro (Late 2019) - 2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9 - 64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4 - Apogee Quartet
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2020, 07:13 AM
ryanbrubacher ryanbrubacher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 3
Default Re: ProTools 2019.12 unable to launch without internet access

Thanks for the help everyone. I confirmed that my ProTools license resides on my iLok, and not accidentally using iLok cloud service. I’m going to be away from my studio for the week but when I get back I will try a reinstall and go from there. It’s good knowing that it’s not the way ProTools should be responding.

Thanks everyone.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2021, 04:51 AM
DigitalMetal DigitalMetal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 411
Default Re: ProTools 2019.12 unable to launch without internet access

Interested to hear what the final out come was, there doesnt seem to be any clear info our there as to how often PT need to check in with online servers for a subscription based license which is especially critical for an always offline machine.
__________________


PT10HD5 PCIX in 64Bit Magma Chassis,
2x192io's + 2x96io's & Legacy io's
Pro Control & Fader Pack
UAD2 Quad, Octo & All Plugins
Black Lion Audio Modified MOTU 24io and 2408MK3 x2
TC Powercore PCI MK2 x2 & Firewire

Softube, Sonnox, Eventide, SSL, McDSP, Waves
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2021, 08:19 AM
ryanbrubacher ryanbrubacher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 3
Default Re: ProTools 2019.12 unable to launch without internet access

DigitalMetal, I ended up doing a clean install of both my OS and ProTools and have not encountered the issue since. Unfortunately I couldn't isolate if it was a bug in that particular version of ProTools or simply a corrupt element of the original install. None the less, all is well currently with 2020.12 for offline use.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-08-2021, 01:49 AM
gasperloborec gasperloborec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 2
Default Re: ProTools 2019.12 unable to launch without internet access

ProTools 2021.3.1 wont lunch while computer is connected to LAN router but router is not connected to WAN / internet access. After burn my head with reinstalling, deleting preferences folder, high stress level, pull out ethernet cable from computer was the right solution. So ProTools need internet connection to startup.

Hope I help someone with same issue and headburn to solve the problem

Cheers from everyday PT user
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-08-2021, 03:10 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,257
Default ProTools 2019.12 unable to launch without internet access

Pro Tools definitely does NOT need internet access to start up. A lot of people/facilities use their production machines (for various reasons) in an offline fashion.

Was it an iLok issue? Do you have your PT authorisation via iLok cloud as opposed to the physical dongle?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting "Access violation occurred-unable to read location" error in 2019.10 Jasconito Pro Tools 2019 3 11-03-2019 01:59 PM
Protools 2019 asking for internet connection teacherman Pro Tools 2019 3 08-20-2019 03:58 PM
Unable to launch Pro Tools- Access violation, unable to read location 0x000000008 JaydenLoone Pro Tools 10 10 10-25-2015 09:46 AM
Unable to launch protools 10 after install shadowdagger001 Windows 12 11-11-2014 05:20 PM
Protools unable to launch - please help! PeterW macOS 9 03-19-2014 03:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com