Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-25-2003, 11:53 AM

Default OT Australian insurance company to cover home studio??

Hey there fellow Aussie Pro Toolers, I am running a Digi 001 setup with some other gear aswell. Just wondering how you are all insuring your gear, which companies are cheap, who's good to deal with, and whether you can take your gear off site and still have it covered? I was quoted almost $1000pa from one place and as a uni student I just can't afford that. I'm using my gear for business use and operating out of a room in my parent's house. I think any answers to this may help quite a few people so I'd love to hear your ideas!

Cheers,

Rowan C.
Old 06-25-2003, 03:49 PM

Default Re: OT Australian insurance company to cover home studio??

Hey I'm an Aussie and I have all my gear, instruments and studio equipment insured through Marsh a division of QBE. They will cover your equipment if you take it to a gig, leave it in your car or tour the world. You pay a percentage of what your gear is worth. Not terribly cheap but it was the most comprehensive coverage I could find. I've had my gear stolen before and believe me I wish I'd worried about the insurance bucks a little less back then. Digging trenches for extra cash to get back my old Les Paul took a very long time. On the plus side I got a lot of job satisfaction....hmmmmmm. Anyways if you want any details just let me know. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Old 06-25-2003, 04:22 PM