Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2008, 03:55 PM
gwiz31 gwiz31 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 110
Default Structure? How to divide a sample(patch into multiplel parts

Lets say I drag a drum loop aiff file onto structure full version, so far so good. How would i divide the sample up to seperate parts and assign them to different keys, (I know how to assign to different keys) Whats the easiest way. the only way i know how to is to copy part then paste part and change the selection of the sample. But that produces a sorta subpatch feature. Who knows how this most effiecient way of doing this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2008, 12:59 PM
Lew Savage Lew Savage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: Structure? How to divide a sample(patch into multiplel p

Being a "slice and dice" guy myself, I understand your problem. I have tried to do the same in Structure as well, but the process is tedious at best. What I have resolved to do in this scenario is go with a tool that is made for slicing and dicing, and that's Propellerheads' Recycle application. Your benefits in going this direction would be twofold. First, by doing your slicing in Recycle, you can set the start and end points of all of the hits in the entire loop. This will import into Structure seamlessly and will spread each of the hits on individual keys for you. Secondly, you would have a beat mapped loop as an end product as well, which you can use at any tempo without the pitch changing. For my time and workflow, I don't know of a better combo than Recycle and Structure for creating/processing loop material. Hope this helps.

Lew
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2008, 05:56 PM
gwiz31 gwiz31 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 110
Default Re: Structure? How to divide a sample(patch into multiplel p

ok i figured this out a little while back and thought i'd tell ya. when you under edit window you select the part, control click and select copy, then paste, then select both, copy, paste, etc till you have as many parts youd like to break the sample up into. then its just a matter of renaming and remapping, fairly easy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Structure 1.1/Structure Free Sounds/Sample folder DTheone Virtual Instruments 9 03-29-2011 07:25 PM
Can I make a Structure patch with Structure Free? weezerboy Virtual Instruments 11 03-28-2011 01:04 PM
Committing midi parts to audio. All parts ahead of bar line sad1robot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-25-2010 02:09 AM
Structure Assigning patch with the Triangles next to patch name? VanAmp Virtual Instruments 1 09-06-2008 10:45 PM
Structure Patch List 14choirs Virtual Instruments 3 07-12-2007 07:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com