Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2005, 10:51 PM
drummerfreak33 drummerfreak33 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 56
Default re install

I have this error problem with loading pro tools. It still loads, but I get all these driver error messages before it finally loads. i was wondering if there is an easy way to uninstall pro tools and re install it again, without like wiping off my whole computer and starting from scratch.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2005, 10:58 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: re install

Uninstall ptle, search and delete all instances of "dalwdm.sys", and re-install. Takes about 5 minutes.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2005, 11:44 PM
drummerfreak33 drummerfreak33 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 56
Default Re: re install

how do I find all of the dalwdm.sys files? like where are they located? and what are those files?

Also what do I do with my session, audio, and fade files? will they stay in tact?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2005, 01:01 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: re install

Start > Search > All files and Folders
Insert the file name.
Search your system drive.

High and delete any instances of dalwdm.sys listed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-2005, 04:50 PM
drummerfreak33 drummerfreak33 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 56
Default Re: re install

So I have done that. i went through and deleted pro tools, through the "uninstall software" in the control panel. Than i searched for the dalwdm.sys files. I only found one of those, so i deleted that.

Im wondering about what is left in the digidesign folder. I have my songs of course, so thats good. But there are some pro tools folders like LE Session templates, and one called pro tools. i was wondering, should I delete those before I re install?
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-2005, 04:58 PM
wolfskin wolfskin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 447
Default Re: re install

Of course, back-up all of your session files. Remove them from your system drive. As a good rule, you should keep all audio files on a dedicated drive. This will GREATLY improve your system performance. Be sure to remove the DAE folder in the 'program files/common files/Digidesign' directory as well.
__________________
Windows XP Pro SP3 & Vista Ultimate SP1 / 002R v8.0 w/ MPT2
AMD X2 4800+ Dual Core / 1000 FSB / 4 GB RAM
www.wolfskinrecords.com
www.voodoopilot.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-09-2005, 11:20 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: re install

Be sure NOT to remove that folder. It has all your plugins in it....
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-10-2005, 09:08 AM
drummerfreak33 drummerfreak33 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 56
Default Re: re install

ya unfortunately I didnt see your post before I removed it. But its all good. i already reinstalled the plugins. I see all of them when I open pro tools, except for sample tank. Im not sure how to get into that through pt
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mountain Lion/PT Install/Ilok install problems alex obradovic macOS 7 07-14-2013 07:19 PM
First install of Pro Tools 9 - Logic 9 already installed - PlugIn install questions b-pole macOS 2 08-31-2011 08:23 AM
Can't install Pro Tools 8! Clean install, new system, Vista! DJ Hellfire 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 31 01-09-2011 12:16 PM
Can't install Pro Tools LE - Insert disc but no option to install Paul McConnell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-22-2010 09:13 AM
Newb install question: Install seems to complete and than freezes ginsuthaironchef 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-02-2009 04:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com