Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Dev > Pro Tools Scripting SDK Toolkit
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2023, 12:27 PM
JamieHardt JamieHardt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 54
Default Some Bugs

Command
SetSessionLength

Observed Behavior
When trying to set a session length less than "06:00:00:00", Pro Tools
returns an Response with an response_error_json with a
command_error value of "PT_InvalidParameter", a string. An error
by this name does not exist in the CommandErrorType
enumeration, and it is a string, and not an integer as required by the
proto.

Expected Behavior
Pro Tools should return a response_error_json with a numeric
command_error whose value exists in the
CommandErrorType enumeration.

---

Command
SetSessionBitDepth
SetSessionAudioFormat
SetSessionLength
SetSessionAudioPullRateSetting
SetSessionVideoPullRateSetting



Observed Behavior
Using these commands does not change the settings in the session setup
window. The session must be saved, closed and reopened before the changes
are visible in Setup.

Expected Behavior
The Session setup window should change its visible settings immediately.


---

Command
PasteSpecial

Observed Behvaior
When PasteSpecial is used with the `To_Current_Automation_Type`, nothing
happens.

Expected Behavior
When used in this way, this command should do a Paste to Current.

---

Command
CreateSession

Observed Behavior
When this command is used with the path and name of an existing session,
it will overwrite the existing file on disk without reporting an error.

Expected Behavior
This command should fail with an error if the path and name of a session
that exists on disk are given. A session exitsing on disk should never be
overwritten.

---

Command
GetTrackList

Observed Behavior
When there are no tracks in the session, the track_list value in the
response contains an empty JSON set object `{}` and not an empty JSON list
`[]`. This is not the correct type for this variable.

Expected Behavior
Pro Tools should return an empty list value for this value.
__________________
___
Jamie Hardt MPSE
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12.0
Mac OS X 12.6.2
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2023, 01:25 PM
rmajors's Avatar
rmajors rmajors is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: WA
Posts: 73
Default Re: Some Bugs

Thanks for reporting these. We have been able to reproduce each of them here, and we are now tracking them with the following bug numbers:

PT-298374 Set commands don't change values in UI

PT-298375 PasteSpecial works only with the Repeat to Fill Selection option

PT-298376 GetTrackList returns and empty {} instead of [] when there are no tracks in the session

PT-298422 CreateSession deletes existing session file

The first SetSessionLength issue you mentioned has already been addressed and you should see the fix in the next Pro Tools release.
__________________
Rob Majors
Avid Software Engineering

Last edited by rmajors; 02-06-2023 at 01:27 PM. Reason: Update information related to the first SetSessionLength bug report
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2023, 02:27 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,353
Default Re: Some Bugs

Hey Rob,
Can I ask for clarification on something? You said about a fix in the next Pro Tools release. Is that for the PTSL lib in Pro Tools or the SDK or both? If it's in the PTSL lib, does that mean that people who are running the current Pro Tools release won't be able to benefit from future bug fixes if it's tied into a library within Pro Tools, and the same with progressive Pro Tools releases and bug fixes?

Thanks,
Pete
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2023, 06:19 AM
alvin28 alvin28 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Default Re: Some More Bugs?

Command
OpenSession

'Save Changes?' dialogue box appears.
Additional commands before this is dismissed causes Pro Tools to crash. closeSessionRequest.savePreviousOnClose would solve?

Command Request:
setOnline - Puts Pro Tools online so that playback and recording is triggered by an external timecode source.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2023, 11:28 AM
rmajors's Avatar
rmajors rmajors is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: WA
Posts: 73
Default Re: Some Bugs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Gates View Post
Hey Rob,
Can I ask for clarification on something? You said about a fix in the next Pro Tools release. Is that for the PTSL lib in Pro Tools or the SDK or both? If it's in the PTSL lib, does that mean that people who are running the current Pro Tools release won't be able to benefit from future bug fixes if it's tied into a library within Pro Tools, and the same with progressive Pro Tools releases and bug fixes?
In most cases a fix or improvement for the Pro Tools Scripting SDK will require a change on the Pro Tools side. If a change is required on the Pro Tools side then access to the updated version of Pro Tools will be required. We don't have any plans to deploy or version the PTSL binary separately from Pro Tools. In general, you can consider the Pro Tools Scripting SDK support in Pro Tools to be treated the same as other Pro Tools application features.

The Pro Tools Scripting SDK does include versioning information in its messages and responses, as well as a way to query the host version, so client apps will be able to use that information e.g. to work around known issues when interacting with an older version of Pro Tools that did not yet include a fix.
__________________
Rob Majors
Avid Software Engineering
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2023, 11:43 AM
Farid M's Avatar
Farid M Farid M is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: Ukraine, Kyiv
Posts: 11
Default Re: Some More Bugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvin28 View Post
Command
OpenSession

'Save Changes?' dialogue box appears.
Additional commands before this is dismissed causes Pro Tools to crash. closeSessionRequest.savePreviousOnClose would solve?
Hello Alvin, Farid here, could you please provide some additional details on this bug? I didn't manage to get a repro, based on your initial description. What commands you were passing with the SaveChanges dialogue box opened?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2023, 11:02 PM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,353
Default Re: Some Bugs

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmajors View Post
In most cases a fix or improvement for the Pro Tools Scripting SDK will require a change on the Pro Tools side. If a change is required on the Pro Tools side then access to the updated version of Pro Tools will be required. We don't have any plans to deploy or version the PTSL binary separately from Pro Tools. In general, you can consider the Pro Tools Scripting SDK support in Pro Tools to be treated the same as other Pro Tools application features.

The Pro Tools Scripting SDK does include versioning information in its messages and responses, as well as a way to query the host version, so client apps will be able to use that information e.g. to work around known issues when interacting with an older version of Pro Tools that did not yet include a fix.
Thanks Rob,
That was the general assumption I think, just wanted it confirmed.

Cheers,
Pete
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2023, 08:33 AM
alvin28 alvin28 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Default Re: Some Bugs

Hi Farid,
Thanks for your reply.
I would assume most workflows would precursor an openSession with a closeSession command, but wanted to highlight that an openSession with session loaded would bring up ‘save changes’ box.
Follow this with a closeSession, then dismiss dialogue will crash Pro Tools every time.
Hope this helps..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-27-2023, 07:50 AM
Farid M's Avatar
Farid M Farid M is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: Ukraine, Kyiv
Posts: 11
Default Re: Some Bugs

Thanks, Alvin, we've been able to get a repro on your report and logged a bug under PT-299188 number. Thanks for bringing this up!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-27-2023, 03:59 PM
rmajors's Avatar
rmajors rmajors is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: WA
Posts: 73
Default Re: Some Bugs

The crash when dismissing the "Save Changes" dialog after executing a PTSL closeSession request is fixed in Pro Tools 2023.3.
__________________
Rob Majors
Avid Software Engineering
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Bugs with AIR VIs DonaldM Virtual Instruments 5 10-26-2017 07:42 AM
11.1.2 on Mountain Lion bugs bugs bugs. command+f, elastic audio, discoloration farmfresh Pro Tools 11 21 05-01-2014 07:21 PM
Bugs in my box - no, REAL BUGS !!!!!!!!! Mixtrix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-25-2006 06:33 PM
known? bugs Jim 'Alien' Credland Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-20-2004 12:45 PM
Bugs in PT 6.2.2 and PT w/ G5 Stage 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-23-2003 09:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com