Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2004, 07:10 AM
GiantMan GiantMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 67
Default VST2RTAS wrapper quirky with DSP cards...

I have had a few problems with using the VST2RTAS wrapper with my Powercore and UAD cards. I have had PT crash out on me when I use a few of these plugins and try to save the session. PT just vanishes without any error message. And sometimes, after saving a session, I have not been able to load the session back. Again PT just crashes out without any error message.

Not to mention, I get the infamous H/W buffer errors which I have never had before. This usually occurs when inserting a plugin 'while' a track is playing, and also sometimes just when a track is playing by itself. Something is going on with these DSP plugs.

Are there any DSP card owners out there who have had similar problems?

gm

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2004, 08:35 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: VST2RTAS wrapper quirky with DSP cards...

I don't have the DSP cards, but this has happened to me with some of the regular free VST plugs, though I don't remember which ones. I do vageuly remember having it happen while the track was playing and when I changed presets.
Maybe when I'm not busy making music, I'll test again and try to replicate and document the error.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2004, 09:37 AM
GiantMan GiantMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 67
Default Re: VST2RTAS wrapper quirky with DSP cards...

The only thing here is that the new version of this wrapper (1.03) released just a couple of days ago was apparently 'supposed' to be working really well with these cards.

I must say, that I've never had other VSTs causing my sessions not to load up or crashing on saving. Maybe it's just my PC but I can't think what it could be.

That's why I want to hear from other DSP card owners, to determine if it is just me or is it happpening to others too. I have stripped my PC right down, and the only cards in there are the DSP ones. Also, my DSP cards have always worked rock solid in all other applications I have tried.

Let's see what happens...
gm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the VST2RTAS wrapper still supposed to work? Bob Simpson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-12-2008 01:35 PM
OT ni reaktor wit vst2rtas wrapper halfguard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 08-20-2004 08:06 AM
M-Tron problem with the VST2RTAS wrapper Steve2000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-12-2004 04:54 PM
What's this new Vst2Rtas wrapper about? K.B. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 03-22-2004 11:45 AM
Anyone using VST-RTAS wrapper with DSP cards??? GiantMan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-26-2004 03:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com