Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2002, 11:56 AM
Felix Felix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,024
Default a good idea to start sessions in .wav from now on?

for those who choose to stay with pre-HD systems, would it be wise to start sessions in .wav instead of the default of SDII?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2002, 02:43 PM
Kev Kev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Melbourne,Vic, Aust
Posts: 873
Default Re: a good idea to start sessions in .wav from now on?

I am doing some tests now to be sure about compatibilities .... with the Digi001 system I have.

BUT I am thinking of using .wav on the next session.

Should I be ticking that 'AES/EBU wave compatibility ' box???
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2002, 03:05 PM
Hardnox Hardnox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Concord, CA, USA
Posts: 465
Default Re: a good idea to start sessions in .wav from now on?

Won't SDII's open in HD? I was told by digi that all Mix sessions are compatible as long as plug-ins are upgraded.
__________________
www.hardnoxproductions.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2002, 04:21 PM
Felix Felix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,024
Default Re: a good idea to start sessions in .wav from now on?

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Hardnox:
Won't SDII's open in HD? I was told by digi that all Mix sessions are compatible as long as plug-ins are upgraded.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

not sure, but i think when they say compatable, they mean after HD converts all files to .wav, just like with Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2002, 04:28 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,826
Default Re: a good idea to start sessions in .wav from now on?

Yes, SDII files will open on an HD system, as will any session created on a Mix system, but SDII is limited to 48k.

If you want to record at any sample rate higher than 48k you will have to use either AIFF or .WAV file formats, SDII is not an option.

Jon Connolly
Digidesign Product Specialist
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2002, 04:48 PM
Paul Greyson Paul Greyson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Daly City, CA, USA
Posts: 397
Default Re: a good idea to start sessions in .wav from now on?

WAV is probably going to be your best option in the long run. There's more standards work going on around WAV (and pretty much none around SDII.)
__________________
Paul Greyson
Digidesign Engineering
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2002, 05:47 PM
audiaudio audiaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 477
Default Re: a good idea to start sessions in .wav from now on?

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Jon Connolly, DigiTechSupt:
Yes, SDII files will open on an HD system, as will any session created on a Mix system, but SDII is limited to 48k.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Jon Connolly, when you write, "SDII is limited to 48k," you seem to be saying 48k only--that is, no 44.1, 96, or any rate other than 48.

Did you mean "limited to a maximum of 48k"--in other words, 44.1 and 48k?

Please clarify.

Thanks.
__________________
 iMac i7 2020 Monterey 16GB HD Native Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2002, 11:20 PM
Jeff Hodges Jeff Hodges is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 214
Default Re: a good idea to start sessions in .wav from now on?

I read that you can run 44.1 or 48 SDII's on HD (so up to 48)

Paul - do we lose anything going .wav? Like, is .wav larger filesize, more difficult to deal with etc etc for PT or is it better, the same, what?
__________________
"J.Ho"
www.caffeinetrax.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-03-2002, 07:52 PM
Paul Greyson Paul Greyson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Daly City, CA, USA
Posts: 397
Default Re: a good idea to start sessions in .wav from now on?

Nope. Really no downside to going with .wav except compatibility with pre 5.1 Pro Tools (which could not play .wav native.)
__________________
Paul Greyson
Digidesign Engineering
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-03-2002, 07:56 PM
JamerJ JamerJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: La Ca
Posts: 100
Default Re: a good idea to start sessions in .wav from now on?

These are good points to take into consideration Digi! Thanks!

[img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
__________________
Jim
JSM Music NY/LA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An idea... implement auto "write to end/start/..." GVDB ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 9 08-26-2004 03:53 PM
Good Idea/ Bad Idea Slade General Discussion 0 07-24-2003 08:30 PM
onboard sound, good idea/bad idea?! sampb7 Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 02-22-2003 03:44 AM
Is this a good idea? Larryboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-14-2002 06:56 AM
is this a good idea whosmatt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 19 09-08-2001 10:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com