Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2022, 10:45 PM
jplumlee jplumlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6
Default HDX repair. Should I even bother?

Hey folks If you don't mind, I have a couple of questions for the group...

I have an HDX card that I'd like to get repaired. It died several years ago and has been sitting in a drawer. Due to ongoing projects and commitments at the time, when it failed I had to replace it quickly. I found and purchased a refurb'd card for decent price.

I've looked into having this one repaired a couple of times, but never seem to get anywhere. I've called all the numbers on Avid's site and spoke with people that referred me to other people that never called back...

Do ANY of you know WHO in the US can actually fix a broken HDX card? If I remember correctly, per Digitest, it was some kind of onboard memory issue. I've thought about letting a good electronics guy take a look at it and see if they can figure it out but I haven't really explored that since I'd like it to be repaired correctly lol.

Currently Im running an Apollo x8p over TB3 with Pro Tools and its working great, however I'd hate to not even explore getting this fixed, even if I only end up selling it.

I don't know who's buying them, but it looks like these cards are still bringing decent money. But if repairs are stupid expensive (hey avid!) It may not even be worth the effort.

thought's? phone numbers?

thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2022, 07:07 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: HDX repair. Should I even bother?

Here’s a list of authorized repair centers. You could start by calling one in your area.

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...roduct-Repairs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2022, 07:18 AM
MCorbin's Avatar
MCorbin MCorbin is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 148
Default Re: HDX repair. Should I even bother?

HDX cards would likely need to be serviced by Avid. I do not believe we have any component level repairs available at a Repair Center for this product. If you open up a case with us we can get you a repair cost.
__________________
Mark Corbin
Avid
Sr Product Manager
Professional Audio Systems

For immediate assistance:
Pro Tools & Eucon Surfaces - +1 888-456-3444
Venue Support - +1 978-275-2557

Find out how to create, manage, and edit cases online now HERE
It's fast, easy, and effective!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2022, 01:27 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,264
Default Re: HDX repair. Should I even bother?

Can you get buy a hardware warranty on HDX cards (like other Avid Hardware)?

In which case, might be cheaper to buy the warranty, wait out the cooling period, and then send it in. That way the repair only costs the warranty cost.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Pro Tools Ult 2022.12, RME BBF ProMac Mini 14,12 - 12 core - macOS 13.2RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 core
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why bother with HDX info@npp.co.uk Pro Tools 10 14 01-15-2012 10:35 AM
Does all the RED bother anyone else? rtcstudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 56 07-26-2008 01:09 PM
Should I even bother? fan4liverpoolfc Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 4 05-29-2007 08:01 PM
um, not to be a bother... Supercrank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-23-2004 12:24 AM
Should I bother with ProTools? Artistuff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 07-15-2004 03:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com