Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2021, 11:42 AM
Focuret Focuret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 202
Default Is there a way to expand HD Omni to have 13 channels (7.2.4) for Dolby Atmos mixing?

Hey guys,

I have recently completed a 7.2.4 theater install in the room next to the stereo (2.1) studio. In the studio I'm running PT Ultimate with an HD Native Thunderbolt box and an HD Omni interface. The max inputs I need is one mic and one (maybe two?) guitars.

In the theater there's 13 total speakers for a 7.2.4 system powered by a Marantz amp and an Emotiva processor/receiver.

What would be the best cost effective way to leverage the HD Omni to have 13 channels for Atmos surround mixing? First time moving from stereo so I'm looking for advice and tips.

Thanks all
__________________
MacBook Pro Touch Bar (15-inch, 2016 2016), 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3, Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB
Intel HD Graphics 530 1536 MB | macOS Monterey | Avid HD Native Thunderbolt | Avid HD Omni | Pro Tools Ultimate | Avid Artist Control | Avid Artist Mix
|
Avid Artist Transport | Genelec 8351b Monitors | Genelec 7360A Subwoofer x2 | Slate Digital VMS Virtual Microphone
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2021, 01:06 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,846
Default Re: Is there a way to expand HD Omni to have 13 channels (7.2.4) for Dolby Atmos mixi

Unfortunately the Omni is maxed out at 8 inputs, 8 outputs. You could jerry rig the headphone cue output (9-10) for an additional 2, but that won't really help much.

The MTRX Studio would be a better choice for this type of thing.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2021, 01:34 PM
Focuret Focuret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 202
Default Re: Is there a way to expand HD Omni to have 13 channels (7.2.4) for Dolby Atmos mixi

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Unfortunately the Omni is maxed out at 8 inputs, 8 outputs. You could jerry rig the headphone cue output (9-10) for an additional 2, but that won't really help much.

The MTRX Studio would be a better choice for this type of thing.

I was going to go the Mtrx Studio route but wanted to know if there was a cheaper solution. Like maybe adding an old 192?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
MacBook Pro Touch Bar (15-inch, 2016 2016), 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3, Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB
Intel HD Graphics 530 1536 MB | macOS Monterey | Avid HD Native Thunderbolt | Avid HD Omni | Pro Tools Ultimate | Avid Artist Control | Avid Artist Mix
|
Avid Artist Transport | Genelec 8351b Monitors | Genelec 7360A Subwoofer x2 | Slate Digital VMS Virtual Microphone
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2021, 02:35 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 926
Default Re: Is there a way to expand HD Omni to have 13 channels (7.2.4) for Dolby Atmos mixi

You can do it with an HD 8x8x8.
I was using it for 7.1.4 before I swapped it out for an MTRX Studio.
I suppose that means you could also use an old 192 the same way.
I used 8 AES and 4 analog outputs to get 7.1.4.

As long as your monitor controller allows you to split between digital and analogue inputs it will work.
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 10.15.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, Avid Dock, Avid S1, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2022.4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2021, 03:52 PM
Focuret Focuret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 202
Default Re: Is there a way to expand HD Omni to have 13 channels (7.2.4) for Dolby Atmos mixi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesehead View Post
You can do it with an HD 8x8x8.
I was using it for 7.1.4 before I swapped it out for an MTRX Studio.
I suppose that means you could also use an old 192 the same way.
I used 8 AES and 4 analog outputs to get 7.1.4.

As long as your monitor controller allows you to split between digital and analogue inputs it will work.

Ok, it's probably a good time for me to stop being stupid and finally ask: what exactly is a monitor controller and why do I need it? I keep hearing about them and have seen the costs but I keep putting off understanding its exact use for what I'm trying to do. Time I asked. lol

Can you explain like I'm 5 what they are, what Dadmon is and what not?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
MacBook Pro Touch Bar (15-inch, 2016 2016), 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3, Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB
Intel HD Graphics 530 1536 MB | macOS Monterey | Avid HD Native Thunderbolt | Avid HD Omni | Pro Tools Ultimate | Avid Artist Control | Avid Artist Mix
|
Avid Artist Transport | Genelec 8351b Monitors | Genelec 7360A Subwoofer x2 | Slate Digital VMS Virtual Microphone
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2021, 01:44 AM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 843
Default Re: Is there a way to expand HD Omni to have 13 channels (7.2.4) for Dolby Atmos mixi

A monitor controller controls the volume of your speakers aka monitors. If you’re monitoring stereo that’s easy and each and every monitor controller is capable of that. If you’re monitor path is wider like 5.1 or 7.2.4 the controller has to be able to control the complete path. DADman can do this if you’re using an MTRX interface. It can even be EuCon controlled via a hardware encoder provided on the Dock and other EuCon devices.
The Omni is the most limited interface of the professional Avid interfaces of the last twenty years. They allowed only eight in- and outputs simultaneously although the interface has more. A 192 has 16 in- and outputs simultaneously even though you have a lot more physical connections available. It was a philosophy of shortage like with the limited track count.
I hope this helps.

Best

Mark
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac mini 2018 i5 64 GB RAM, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 2021, Euphonix MC Control
MacBook Air 2020 (M1) 16 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, Zoom U-44 and Pro Tools Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-01-2021, 01:46 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,543
Default Re: Is there a way to expand HD Omni to have 13 channels (7.2.4) for Dolby Atmos mixi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Focuret View Post
there's 13 total speakers
... so how do you want to use it with 8 outputs?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2021, 02:43 AM
Focuret Focuret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 202
Default Re: Is there a way to expand HD Omni to have 13 channels (7.2.4) for Dolby Atmos mixi

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
... so how do you want to use it with 8 outputs?
That's what I was asking: would adding a Digi 192 or something to expand the number of outputs to 13 or above just easily work and be cheaper than getting a Mtrx Studio
__________________
MacBook Pro Touch Bar (15-inch, 2016 2016), 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3, Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB
Intel HD Graphics 530 1536 MB | macOS Monterey | Avid HD Native Thunderbolt | Avid HD Omni | Pro Tools Ultimate | Avid Artist Control | Avid Artist Mix
|
Avid Artist Transport | Genelec 8351b Monitors | Genelec 7360A Subwoofer x2 | Slate Digital VMS Virtual Microphone
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-01-2021, 02:47 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,543
Default Re: Is there a way to expand HD Omni to have 13 channels (7.2.4) for Dolby Atmos mixi

192 has at lesst 8 analog outputs, unless it is the special 192digital version without anything analog


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-01-2021, 02:48 AM
Focuret Focuret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 202
Default Re: Is there a way to expand HD Omni to have 13 channels (7.2.4) for Dolby Atmos mixi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Ziebarth View Post
A monitor controller controls the volume of your speakers aka monitors. If you’re monitoring stereo that’s easy and each and every monitor controller is capable of that. If you’re monitor path is wider like 5.1 or 7.2.4 the controller has to be able to control the complete path. DADman can do this if you’re using an MTRX interface. It can even be EuCon controlled via a hardware encoder provided on the Dock and other EuCon devices.
The Omni is the most limited interface of the professional Avid interfaces of the last twenty years. They allowed only eight in- and outputs simultaneously although the interface has more. A 192 has 16 in- and outputs simultaneously even though you have a lot more physical connections available. It was a philosophy of shortage like with the limited track count.
I hope this helps.

Best

Mark
This does indeed help and finally makes sense. Thank you! So it is looking like one way or the other the Mtrx Studio with a monitor controller is what I'll need. I have an Avid Artist Control and Mix plus the iPad app. Could one of those be used as a controller or would I need this: https://vintageking.com/digital-audi...erating-module
__________________
MacBook Pro Touch Bar (15-inch, 2016 2016), 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3, Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB
Intel HD Graphics 530 1536 MB | macOS Monterey | Avid HD Native Thunderbolt | Avid HD Omni | Pro Tools Ultimate | Avid Artist Control | Avid Artist Mix
|
Avid Artist Transport | Genelec 8351b Monitors | Genelec 7360A Subwoofer x2 | Slate Digital VMS Virtual Microphone
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dolby Atmos Spatial Audio Mixing on PC? EliLitwin Windows 3 11-27-2021 02:39 AM
HDX and Dolby Atmos ViciousLullabyz Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 08-13-2021 07:29 AM
Mixing in Surround and Dolby Atmos Sreejesh Tips & Tricks 6 02-25-2017 01:55 PM
Dolby Atmos subwoof Post - Surround - Video 3 09-11-2014 01:10 AM
Dolby Atmos peter5992 Post - Surround - Video 20 10-29-2012 02:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com