Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2021, 08:39 PM
EliLitwin EliLitwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Northampton, MA
Posts: 1
Default Dolby Atmos Spatial Audio Mixing on PC?

I assume that most people on here who use Apple Music have checked out the new "Spatial Audio" with Dolby Atmos features. I love what I've heard so far, so naturally, I want to mix my own music in Spatial Audio. I went hunting for an Atmos plugin, but I'm hitting a dead end because I'm using Pro Tools (standard, not Ultimate) on a Windows computer. So the big question is...

Will I be able to create Spatial Audio Dolby Atmos mixes on my standard Pro Tools PC system anytime soon?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2021, 09:04 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,072
Default Re: Dolby Atmos Spatial Audio Mixing on PC?

Probably not….that’s how they coerce you into spending the bug bucks for Ultimate.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2021, 11:27 AM
Skwaidu Skwaidu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 271
Default Re: Dolby Atmos Spatial Audio Mixing on PC?

You need a bunch of things. One option is PT Ultimate, Dante Virtual Soundcard and a separate Mac Mini running Dolby Atmos Production Suite. Yes, it sucks.

(Oh, on the Mac Mini you can do "lite-Atmos" built in now with Logic...)

And yes, I just built an i9-12900K machine, but keeping my old Mac Pro for DAPS.
__________________
Windows 11 22H2, Intel i9-13900K, MSI PRO Z690-A D4, 64 GB DDR4 3200MHz/CL16, Corsair HX1000, 1TB M.2 PCIe 4.0, 3.5TB M.2 PCIe 3.0, 2TB QVO, 2x6TB WD Black, Noctua NH-D15, Fractal Design Define R6 + GTX970 (for now) - PT Ultimate 2022.10

Used to be/ Spare/ DAPS: Mac Pro 4,1 upgraded to 5,1 3,46Ghz 12 Core, 96GB RAM, OS SSD and Sata3 Audio SSD, macOS Mojave, PT Ultimate 2021.10, DAPS 3.7.1

HDX2, MTRX Studio & DAD MOM, HD I/O 16x16, Apogee AD/DA 16X/X-HD and ICON D-Command ES.

Last edited by Skwaidu; 11-28-2021 at 05:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2021, 02:39 AM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 388
Default Re: Dolby Atmos Spatial Audio Mixing on PC?

You could have a look at Davinci Resolve, the paid version does atmos on Windows I believe and is way cheaper than Ultimate.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Interface I/O - Dolby Atmos Production Suite Nived Post - Surround - Video 2 06-18-2021 04:19 AM
Mixing in Surround and Dolby Atmos Sreejesh Tips & Tricks 6 02-25-2017 01:55 PM
Dolby Atmos - Do I need SRC? budster Post - Surround - Video 4 03-24-2015 11:25 AM
Using 3D spatial plugins in editing and mixing RuffinMedia Post - Surround - Video 1 07-13-2012 09:14 PM
Dolby Atmos mikevarela Post - Surround - Video 3 06-25-2012 08:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com