Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2001, 12:47 PM
Zeek Zeek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Irvine CA
Posts: 145
Default Best Settings for recording

What are the best buffer settings for recording 8 tracks at once. I'm recording to a wide SCSI drive on a G3/300/192. Also, should I enable Low Latency Monitoring?

Thanks in Advance-Zeek
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2001, 08:58 PM
Lucky Lucky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Chicago
Posts: 370
Default Re: Best Settings for recording

I wouldn't use low latency monitoring. Since you are recording all tracks at once you can set the buffer to 1024. With your machine, don't try to get too fancy with the RTAS plugs. You can do that later. By wide SCSI, I assume you mean at least a 7200 RPM wide SCSI. Dont even think about it with a 5400 RPM drive. Make sure that the drive is optimized prior to recording and stick with the minimum base extensions and the DIGI required ones. Be cool with the allocated RAM (at least 80000 for DAE, and 50000 for Pro Tools). You shouldn't have any problems if you can eveything else mentioned worked out.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2001, 05:26 AM
bascani bascani is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Bureå
Posts: 50
Default Re: Best Settings for recording

Lucky,

why wouldn't you use low latency? does it effect the sound or what?

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2001, 05:58 AM
Lucky Lucky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Chicago
Posts: 370
Default Re: Best Settings for recording

Latency is a problem while trying to sync to an already recorded track or tracks (ie. vocals or guitar on top of rhythm tracks). If you are recording 8 tracks at once you should monitor the sound going into the computer, not coming out. You can use latency monitoring but it uses a few processor cycles, thus leaving less cycles for the recording. Also, the original question was about a G3-300, so this is a way for the best possible recording on that system. Obviously there is more flexibility with a faster processor and hard drives.

[This message has been edited by Lucky (edited May 08, 2001).]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-08-2001, 07:17 AM
msunj msunj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Houston Texas USA
Posts: 185
Default Re: Best Settings for recording

I would use low latency monitoring. Ive done the same type of sessions and it has worked great. If you use 1024 setting and monitor from the 001 you will hear a very noticeable delay.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-08-2001, 08:04 AM
pnoise pnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 162
Default Re: Best Settings for recording

All depends how you are monitoring. The proper way to monitor (with the ideal system) would be to listen to what's coming out of the computer...so you know exactly what the computer is recording. However, due to latency issues with the 001 many of us have choosen to monitor the audio signals before they go into the Digi001. This can be accomplished by using a mixer in front of the 001 inputs. I'm assuming that you are already doing this since you are recording 8 tracks at once. (Unless, of course, you only need 2 preamps and the other 6 signals are line inputs.) So if this is your setup (monitoring before the signals goes in), low latency monitoring mode won't make a difference. It only affects the signal coming out of the 001. Hope that helps.
__________________
Stephen Shirk

www.stephenshirk.com
www.pinknoise.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2001, 08:27 AM
pnoise pnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 162
Default Re: Best Settings for recording

All depends how you are monitoring. The proper way to monitor (with the ideal system) would be to listen to what's coming out of the computer...so you know exactly what the computer is recording. However, due to latency issues with the 001 many of us have choosen to monitor the audio signals before they go into the Digi001. This can be accomplished by using a mixer in front of the 001 inputs. I'm assuming that you are already doing this since you are recording 8 tracks at once. (Unless, of course, you only need 2 preamps and the other 6 signals are line inputs.) So if this is your setup (monitoring before the signals goes in), low latency monitoring mode won't make a difference. It only affects the signal coming out of the 001. Hope that helps.
__________________
Stephen Shirk

www.stephenshirk.com
www.pinknoise.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best settings for efficient recording? cricket 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-25-2009 01:49 PM
Recording at low buffer settings. not possible. kRokksOn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 05-02-2007 09:31 AM
Need Limiter Settings for Live Recording bilco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 12-11-2005 06:38 AM
Best settings for 80 track recording to HD3 at 48k STUDiogeek Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 07-15-2005 08:39 AM
Recording vocals settings, tips.. barznbeats1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-25-2005 04:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com