Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2015, 12:13 AM
Josh Voyles's Avatar
Josh Voyles Josh Voyles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 333
Default Digigrid and Artist/S3 Surfaces

Does Eucon play nicely with the Digigrid interfaces?

I'm thinking I'd like an Artist control surface or maybe an S3 for work, but I think I want to go down the Digigrid path too?

If not, could I use the thunderbolt to ethernet adapter plus the ethernet port on my laptop to keep them seperate?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2015, 11:43 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Digigrid and Artist/S3 Surfaces

I am using Eucon 3.1.3 with Artist Control and Mix with a SoundGrid System (see signature) and PT11HD. The integration is in general primitive. Sure all the faders work and it is possible to map controls from StudioRack to the surface but it will be a manual process for each instance and will show up on the Surface as UA1, UA2 etc... no parameter names (a ProTools thing - in Cubase you get names).

In my current usage the SoundGrid system has me back to more mousing for plugins and the surfaces are more about faders. My dream is that the new alliance between AVID/Waves may help this but that is solely in AVID's court.
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2015, 05:23 PM
Josh Voyles's Avatar
Josh Voyles Josh Voyles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 333
Default Re: Digigrid and Artist/S3 Surfaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
I am using Eucon 3.1.3 with Artist Control and Mix with a SoundGrid System (see signature) and PT11HD. The integration is in general primitive. Sure all the faders work and it is possible to map controls from StudioRack to the surface but it will be a manual process for each instance and will show up on the Surface as UA1, UA2 etc... no parameter names (a ProTools thing - in Cubase you get names).

In my current usage the SoundGrid system has me back to more mousing for plugins and the surfaces are more about faders. My dream is that the new alliance between AVID/Waves may help this but that is solely in AVID's court.
Generally speaking, I don't care much about and integration with Waves. I just wanted to make sure all the devices could run on the same network with glitches or drop outs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2015, 05:37 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Digigrid and Artist/S3 Surfaces

Ahh

In my setup I have a nMP with one Ethernet Bus going to the Internet and the other doing SoundGrid and Artist series Mix and Control. Never had any problems with this.
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools & Digigrid Josh Voyles Pro Tools 12 16 08-27-2015 10:53 AM
Next Victim - Artist surfaces do not work with PT11 but work fine with PT10 jimmyjayp Artist Series 10 12-29-2014 04:38 PM
DigiGrid IOS 8IO+ DSP simon.a.billington AAX Plug-ins 0 12-04-2014 08:10 PM
Waves introduces DigiGrid nst7 AAX Plug-ins 167 01-29-2013 09:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com