Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2014, 07:54 PM
Lucky Bastard Lucky Bastard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nashville
Posts: 8
Default No output to headphones or speakers

I setup up my studio last weekend (laptop w/ protools 11 and mbox pro) at a friends house and recorded for an entire weekend with no problems. When I plugged everything back in at home neither the headphones or speakers would work to playback an existing track.

I've checked the playback engine and mbox pro is the default. I've rebooted the system numerous times. The meters on the track are jumping, the tracks are not muted or soloed. Can't find anything on line that helps.

I am completely at a loss. I have friends coming over to record tomorrow and I can't get the outputs to work. Anyone have any ideas that I can try?

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2014, 12:45 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,543
Default Re: No output to headphones or speakers

Check your i/o setup and if you don't understand it, click "default" button. If the audio track meters are jumping, the audio is going "somewhere" and the i/o setup window is the place to determine where that is.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2014, 06:38 AM
Lucky Bastard Lucky Bastard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nashville
Posts: 8
Default Re: No output to headphones or speakers

Failed to mention that I did check I/O settings and they looked right last night though this morning I did try hitting default and nothing changed.

On a lark this morning I unmuted every track and pushed play and sound came out. Before I did this there were at least six tracks that were not muted. After I started getting signal through the speakers I remuted the same tracks and left unmuted the first five and it works fine now. What the hell?

I've had weird things like this happen before, inexplicable problem but a reboot of the entire system usually fixes it. Any ideas what might be going on.

Thank you for your help! This is quite frustrating.

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2014, 06:45 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,543
Default Re: No output to headphones or speakers

Glad you got it sorted out. If that happens again, please report back and try if you find any steps that makes it possible to reproduce the issue. If it's a bug, it will have close to 100% repro.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2014, 12:29 PM
Lucky Bastard Lucky Bastard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nashville
Posts: 8
Default Re: No output to headphones or speakers

It happened again and this time I think I know what might be causing it. Normally when I turn on the mbox the meter lights jump to full signal after 10-15 seconds. I noticed last night that they weren't doing that and thought it strange. Today when the "glitch" went away the lights jumped to full signal like normal.

I turned everything off and rebooted and the meter lights didn't move at all but the power light came on and the glitch returned. Tried turning the mbox off and on a few times until the meter lights jumped and once they did the system works fine.

Do you think there is something wrong with my mbox? I've only had it since Nov and haven't used it that much because I am still trying to learn protools.

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2014, 01:06 PM
Cutlerbri Cutlerbri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 290
Default Re: No output to headphones or speakers

Hi Brian.
Have you installed the latest driver for the MBox Pro? Your story about the lights on the MBox Pro going dim sounds familiar to me and my MBox 2.
__________________
Brian
See profile page for system details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
headphones sound better than any type of speakers, have tried everything. D1ma Eleven Rack 18 07-24-2013 03:59 PM
All about Headphones/Speakers smrpg99 General Discussion 3 06-05-2011 03:16 PM
Do i need speakers or headphones to listen to playback? rudyniche 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-22-2010 12:40 PM
Monitoring with speakers and Headphones oettinger1919 General Discussion 3 11-25-2009 08:06 AM
Speakers and headphones karlc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-30-2007 10:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com