Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2010, 04:20 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,822
Default 2 Issues Still Not Fixed In 8.0.4

8.0.4 works great for me in W7 64bit except for 2 persistent problems:

1. I still get the error message "Access violation - no RTTI data!" after processing an AudioSuite plugin. I can hit OK and it will go away and I can work again - but it's very annoying. I have no idea if this is a hardware/Windows/plugin issue?? Seems to happen with all AudioSuite plugins though the main ones I use are Normalize and AutoTune. Anyone ever figure this one out??

2. When Bouncing To Disk, if I click anywhere on the screen Pro Tools locks up. I'm not able to cancel the bounce as the screen turns white. I can perform other tasks in Windows, but ProTools is unresponsive until the bounce is completed.

I've seen both of these issues posted by other users (and myself) and have never seen a solution. Makes me think it's some Windows or ProTools setting, or maybe something in the BIOS as apparently most users are not experiencing them. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Rascal Audio Tonebuss 24
Slate Digital VRS8

Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P
i7 6700K 4.1 GHz
32GB DDR4
macOS 10.15.7
UAD-2 Octo Core PCIe
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2010, 04:23 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,671
Default Re: 2 Issues Still Not Fixed In 8.0.4

I have been getting the BTD lockout since 8.0. I think (IMO) that's its because PT takes all functions off line and windows thinks it's unresponsive when you click outside of PT. I would imagine it's a windows thing, but I don't know if Mac users get it or not.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2010, 08:41 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,822
Default Re: 2 Issues Still Not Fixed In 8.0.4

Well it only happens to me in Windows 7 - both of these issues actually. I don't experience these problems in XP.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Rascal Audio Tonebuss 24
Slate Digital VRS8

Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P
i7 6700K 4.1 GHz
32GB DDR4
macOS 10.15.7
UAD-2 Octo Core PCIe
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2010, 10:57 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: 2 Issues Still Not Fixed In 8.0.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
8.0.4 works great for me in W7 64bit except for 2 persistent problems:

1. I still get the error message "Access violation - no RTTI data!" after processing an AudioSuite plugin. I can hit OK and it will go away and I can work again - but it's very annoying. I have no idea if this is a hardware/Windows/plugin issue?? Seems to happen with all AudioSuite plugins though the main ones I use are Normalize and AutoTune. Anyone ever figure this one out??
What plugins specifically (including version numbers) do you have installed? (That's installed; You don't have to be using them for them to cause problems)

What other software (please be specific with version numbers) do you have installed? Not just music software, ANYthing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
Well it only happens to me in Windows 7 - both of these issues actually. I don't experience these problems in XP.
That definitely narrows it down. W7 up to date?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2010, 12:40 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: 2 Issues Still Not Fixed In 8.0.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
8.0.4 works great for me in W7 64bit except for 2 persistent problems:

1. I still get the error message "Access violation - no RTTI data!" after processing an AudioSuite plugin. I can hit OK and it will go away and I can work again - but it's very annoying. I have no idea if this is a hardware/Windows/plugin issue?? Seems to happen with all AudioSuite plugins though the main ones I use are Normalize and AutoTune. Anyone ever figure this one out??

2. When Bouncing To Disk, if I click anywhere on the screen Pro Tools locks up. I'm not able to cancel the bounce as the screen turns white. I can perform other tasks in Windows, but ProTools is unresponsive until the bounce is completed.

I've seen both of these issues posted by other users (and myself) and have never seen a solution. Makes me think it's some Windows or ProTools setting, or maybe something in the BIOS as apparently most users are not experiencing them. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
did you run a 'repair' to see if that helps ? ( and thanks for the heads-up on the link. hopefully you got my email)
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2010, 02:10 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,822
Default Re: 2 Issues Still Not Fixed In 8.0.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by mykhal c View Post
did you run a 'repair' to see if that helps ? ( and thanks for the heads-up on the link. hopefully you got my email)
I'm checking on the installed plugins and software. Do you mean a repair as in going to Uninstall-Repair which reinstalls Pro Tools, or a Windows 7 repair?
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Rascal Audio Tonebuss 24
Slate Digital VRS8

Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P
i7 6700K 4.1 GHz
32GB DDR4
macOS 10.15.7
UAD-2 Octo Core PCIe
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2010, 02:21 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: 2 Issues Still Not Fixed In 8.0.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
I'm checking on the installed plugins and software. Do you mean a repair as in going to Uninstall-Repair which reinstalls Pro Tools, or a Windows 7 repair?
yes i'd run a repair on PTLE...via add/remove programs.
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2010, 11:45 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,822
Default Re: 2 Issues Still Not Fixed In 8.0.4

Found the culprit of the "No RTTI Data" problem - a program called UltraMon I was using to configure dual monitors. I used it more in XP and don't really need it for Winodws 7. Once I removed it the Access Violations went away - reinstall it and they come back.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Rascal Audio Tonebuss 24
Slate Digital VRS8

Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P
i7 6700K 4.1 GHz
32GB DDR4
macOS 10.15.7
UAD-2 Octo Core PCIe
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-23-2010, 07:51 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: 2 Issues Still Not Fixed In 8.0.4

Good find!

Maybe DigiTechSupt will add it to the list of incompatibilities for W7? (or maybe not).

I will probably use this thread as an example of "other software" being installed that can screw up a Pro Tools install.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has 8.0.4cs2 fixed the response issues with the 003 converted 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 10-29-2010 10:36 PM
Will the FW800 issue/Mbox Pro issues ever be fixed?? biujee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 11-05-2009 01:31 PM
Cs 2 fixed my graphic issues zeeman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-25-2009 11:54 AM
10.4.8 fixed my Mac Pro/PTLE 7.1.1 issues! acmost 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-20-2006 05:04 PM
Audio volume issues fixed in LE 7.1? avaldes Storage Subsystems 0 03-19-2006 06:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com