Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2007, 06:06 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,501
Default Crash then Freeze

Ever since purchasing our new HD3 rig last Feb, I've been plagued with this strange bug. Pro Tools will suddenly crash, then if I try to launch it again, the entire computer freezes up. If I restart the computer first, then it's fine, but if I don't, complete lock of the OS. This has been since 7.3 and is still there in the newest version. Anyone else experiencing this? Or am I doomed to always have to restart after it crashes? Using a dual 2.66 Intel Mac.

Thanks,
Siegfried
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2007, 03:58 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,681
Default Re: Crash then Freeze

Quote:
Ever since purchasing our new HD3 rig last Feb, I've been plagued with this strange bug. Pro Tools will suddenly crash, then if I try to launch it again, the entire computer freezes up. If I restart the computer first, then it's fine, but if I don't, complete lock of the OS. This has been since 7.3 and is still there in the newest version. Anyone else experiencing this? Or am I doomed to always have to restart after it crashes? Using a dual 2.66 Intel Mac.

Thanks,
Siegfried
Hi,

First thing !! always re-boot after a crash
Second thing!! this is not a bug

This is a problem with your rig only and can probably be sorted with a bit of effort :

Do you get a crash report when it quits? they are stored in Mach HD / User / your name / library / prefs / logs / crash reporter

You need to look at the crash log and see which thread has caused the quit and see if it names any culprits! or paste the crash log here for others to view.

I assume you have done all the troubleshooting tips as described in the troubleshooting thread?

Especially a fresh install if Pro Tools!! don't panic, this will only take 5 minutes and is the best thing to do if you are getting constant quits.

The second major cause of these problems is hardware; ram / hard drive / USB device/ hub etc.

When you have exhausted all the software avenues! as suggested above! then start with your hardware checking.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freeze and crash every 5-10 minutes SBMusicAndPost 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 07-29-2010 07:35 PM
plug-in freeze, crash... HELP jasonforman Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 12-11-2009 06:36 PM
Crash/freeze qwerty007 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-07-2007 03:06 PM
Please help! Odd freeze/crash sHERB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-05-2007 03:04 PM
freeze and crash Julien J. Noel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-26-2001 08:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com