Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2006, 01:39 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,769
Default Assertion error in line 478?

Anyone know what an Assertion Error in line 478 is?
It´s not in the answerbase.

I have two offline fade-files in my session (all audio is on-line). I want to remove them so I open the porject browser search for the two buggers. I select them an hit "delete selected" from the toolbox. A window pops up and asks me to confirm that I want to remove then (both fades have a length or 0ms BTW, wich is also weird). I hit remove. After that the fades still appear in the fade folder of the project browser. I repeat the whole procedure only to get the mentiones error-message.

The off-line fades are still there an are not re-created on start-up.

Any hints?

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2022.12 (OSX12.6.2), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-2006, 02:47 PM
Tom Smith Tom Smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 136
Default Re: Assertion error in line 478?

An assertion error is a debugging message inserted into the source code of a program by the programmer. Usually, these aren't visible because they're not supposed to be compiled into the release version of the program. But, sometimes things slip through the cracks.

The error condition is supposed to be handled in the release version by the graceful, robust error handling mechanism designed into the software. Oops.

By the way, I did have a similar problem with some fades that, when opening the session in PT 6.9 would give me an error message (not the same one you're seeing) then let me continue with opening the session. The error message even gave the timecode that the offending fades were at in the session. But if the same project was opened with PT 7, the program would just completely crash and burn!

The solution was simply to remove the the fades in 6.9 (guess I was just too lazy to do it when I first saw the error), save the project and open it in 7.
__________________
Yesterday, I cudn't evun spell injunear. Now I are one!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-2006, 03:03 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,769
Default Re: Assertion error in line 478?

Quote:

The solution was simply to remove the the fades in 6.9 (guess I was just too lazy to do it when I first saw the error), save the project and open it in 7.
Well, that´s what I was doing and led to the error. Is there another way to get rid of the buggers? Unfortunately when selecting the fade in the project browser PT doesn´t show it´s locations and I am most certainly not goig to look at all 9000 fades on 160 tracks to find them.

I´m on 6.9.3 BTW.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2022.12 (OSX12.6.2), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-2006, 03:03 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,839
Default Re: Assertion error in line 478?

the only time i ran into this, i had to remove ALL fades from the session, and reopen it and recut all the fades.

i beleive it happened because i was creating a fade when i was playing back (and maybe it was autosaving?). i dunno. but it suct. and that was the only solution i had.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error: Assertion line 621 roofus Windows 4 03-17-2013 02:32 PM
Assertion Error in... Line 476 Rowas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-14-2012 10:51 AM
assertion/line 33 error! DAMNBABY 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-14-2008 04:56 PM
Assertion Error Line 164, but I've done everything markimola 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-25-2006 08:26 AM
Mix Plus 6.4.1 Assertion error in line 894 AlliedPost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-30-2004 12:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com