Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2022, 06:37 AM
DBHILL77 DBHILL77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: London
Posts: 2
Default How to open a Protools 8 session in 2022!

Hi,

I have done previously done a lot of work on M-Powered Protools 8 with the M-Audio fast track ultra.

I no longer have that interface and am using the latest version of Protools.

I can open my old projects in the current version of Protools, but because of the amount Plugin's (AIR distortion for example, reverbs too) which has been discontinued they don't sound the same at all.

It there anyway I can open a Protools 8 project using the set up I had previously to access these mixes today?

I'm thinking, is there a way to get these discontinued plugins, or possibly on a separate old mac, which I have, try and get an old version of M-Audio interface and Protools 8. This will be tricky, as I think I'll need to try and back date the Mac's OS!

There must be someway to open old projects still. I was hoping there would be a lot of info online but found little. Sorry if this question has already been asked somewhere else.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2022, 10:31 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,736
Default Re: How to open a Protools 8 session in 2022!

As you’ve discovered, you can open your session and it will convert it to a .ptx. While opening the session, you should be presented with a dialog that says there are plugins not found in your plugins folder. Use the save as list function and then post the list here so we can see what plugins you are referring to. AIR plugins should still open in the new session unless you don’t have them installed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Mac Studio, 64GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mac OS Monterey 12.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.9, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2022, 12:17 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,937
Default Re: How to open a Protools 8 session in 2022!

And since as a new DUC user the anti-spam filter will make it hard for you to reply for a day or so...

As James says there are multiple Air plugins including Air Distortion included with your Pro Tools studio subscription (or perpetual license support/update plan) these are a part of the Avid Complete Plugin Bundle (https://cn.avid.com/plugins/avid-complete-plugin-bundle) included with these plans, and are a separate software install or many separate installers.

Look in your Avid.com account under "My Products" and then under the Pro Tools Studio product for these downloads... expand that/scroll well down to see them (I recommend doing all installs manually not relying on Avid Link... stop that running or even better uninstall it).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2022, 06:23 PM
DBHILL77 DBHILL77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: London
Posts: 2
Default Re: How to open a Protools 8 session in 2022!

Thanks so much. I just downloaded the plugin's from the Studio section of My Products which has all the pluggins I needed.

God bless
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will sessions created in 2022.9 open in 2022.7 michael c Pro Tools 1 10-21-2022 10:09 AM
I need to open a ProTools 5 session Will Russell macOS 4 07-26-2016 09:31 AM
Can't open a 7.3.1 session on a 7.1 Protools system... Julien Apruzzese Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-21-2007 10:28 AM
can't open new session of Protools free Mattingly Digidesign Hardware & Software 11 01-16-2004 09:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com