Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2020, 06:21 PM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 810
Default Overdub Monitoring is broken in 2020.9.1 With Apollo 8

Strange issue but seems the opposite to the one described here:http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=411840.
I have an Apollo 8 on the front end and it worked flawlessly set up as the monitor controller with the proper flags set in the preferences. i.e. overdubbing on a track with a pre-roll set, you could hear the previously recorded audio along with the input to play along with, then at the punch point the pre-recorded audio would drop out and only the input would be heard. Now what happens is, I hear the previous audio and when it punches I hear the audio from the input and the audio through the track, with a slight delay, based on the buffer size. No matter what I do, this is broken. LLM, no LLM, LLM with persistent sends 'fixes' it, sort of, but it mutes any audio coming from the track, so it's useless for overdubbing. The only way I've found to get around this horrible bug is to open the Setup->Playback Engine dialog and close it...no other action needs to happen. However, once I switch to another track and enable it's record button, or switch the same tracks record button off and on the audio is once again heard twice after the punch. Again opening Setup->Playback Engine and closing it fixes it for that operation. This is pretty maddening, especially if you're working with a lot of tracks and going between them. I've trashed prefs and all the other files, rebuilt stuff, done the optimizations, etc. But it's a bug. The good news is my Mac 6.1 is solid as Sears on Catalina and 2020.9.1...except I can't use it to overdub with...any ideas?
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 4 480G OWC 3G SSD data drives in Thunderbolt 2 enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2020, 02:16 PM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 810
Default Re: Overdub Monitoring is broken in 2020.9.1 With Apollo 8

Well, an update to the issue. It's still not fixed, but after cooling off and thinking about this for a while I decided to do some more troubleshooting. I trashed all my prefs, plug-ins (after renaming and moving the folder), emptied the trash, restarted, and let it install the core plug-ins. The problem is still the same. But there is additional info I've uncovered. If I open any of these items in the setup menu: Hardware, Playback Engine, I/O, it 'resets' something and the software works as expected, i.e. listen to audio on the track to be overdubbed on until the punch in, and then see the waveform being recorded, but not hearing it through the machine, and only the input on the front end. Also if I change the record modes at the top of the Options menu (toggle Destructive Record on/off) it works. Again this works only until another track is armed or the current ones record enable is toggled off then back on.

I then did a 'full' uninstall of Pro Tools by trashing the folders described here: How to manually uninstall Pro Tools 11 (or higher) on Mac OS X, copying my Plug-ins folder to a different location and renaming it, did a full Trash preferences operation using PTPrefs (the newest one), dumping the trash can, rebooting and then re-installed PT 2020.9.1.

The problem still exists.

It may have something to do with the driver for the Apollo? It seems to 'fix' the issue whenever the driver is referenced from within Pro Tools. To test that I think I would need another interface (I currently don't have one) and/or uninstall the UAD driver (it's the most current one).

I'm just spitballing here and hopefully someone with some knowledge can chime in with a sanity check and a confirmation I'm doing this correctly or not...

In the meantime, I'm heading off to the UAD forums and see if I can get any info there...
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 4 480G OWC 3G SSD data drives in Thunderbolt 2 enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2020, 03:28 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,297
Default Re: Overdub Monitoring is broken in 2020.9.1 With Apollo 8

You do have another interface it's the Built-In Output in your Mac. If you want an input just to test with as well, you aggregate them together.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2020, 04:30 PM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 810
Default Re: Overdub Monitoring is broken in 2020.9.1 With Apollo 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
You do have another interface it's the Built-In Output in your Mac. If you want an input just to test with as well, you aggregate them together.
I understand, but I want to eliminate the UAD driver and consequently the Apollo from the system to see if that 'fixes' the input problem, but the inputs live on the Apollo...I'm going to try it anyway.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 4 480G OWC 3G SSD data drives in Thunderbolt 2 enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2020, 05:11 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,297
Default Re: Overdub Monitoring is broken in 2020.9.1 With Apollo 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArKay99 View Post
I understand, but I want to eliminate the UAD driver and consequently the Apollo from the system to see if that 'fixes' the input problem, but the inputs live on the Apollo...I'm going to try it anyway.
That's what I am saying. Get rid of the UAD stuff to do a simple quick test. Aggregate built in-Input and built-in Output or whatever they are called on your system and leave the Apollo out... test with the built in mic or whatever way you can get any signal into the Mac audio inputs. Connect headphones to the Mac in needed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-18-2020, 05:20 PM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 810
Default Re: Overdub Monitoring is broken in 2020.9.1 With Apollo 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
That's what I am saying. Get rid of the UAD stuff to do a simple quick test. Aggregate built in-Input and built-in Output or whatever they are called on your system and leave the Apollo out... test with the built in mic or whatever way you can get any signal into the Mac audio inputs. Connect headphones to the Mac in needed.
Yes, my bad. I thought you were talking about aggregating the Apollo and built in, not the Pro Tools aggregate and built in...duh. I realized that after I did the Apollo and built in and went to set up the I/O... I've got to go to the UAD site and find the procedure for uninstalling the Apollo drivers...there's pref's and stuff.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 4 480G OWC 3G SSD data drives in Thunderbolt 2 enclosure, macOS 10.15.7, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9.1, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 2020.5 Cloud Collaboration Broken Patheticus Pro Tools 2020 11 02-07-2021 12:38 PM
ProTools 2020.3 + Catalina 10.15.4 + UA Apollo issues agoraphobia Pro Tools 2020 1 05-05-2020 07:37 AM
Monitoring through headphones with Apollo 8 - when selecting Low Latency Monitoring Mick335 Pro Tools 12 2 04-10-2018 09:34 AM
Overdub monitoring level conundrum? kirkbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-20-2011 03:51 AM
Overdub / Punch Ins - Double Monitoring Workflow Issues geelo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-16-2008 12:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com