Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2024, 03:28 AM
Protone Protone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 87
Default Fastest workflow to copy static automation from a bunch of tracks to different ones?

Let’s say you checkerboard dialog on two sets of 8 tracks, dxA1-8 and dxB1-8. You have a scene mixed on dxA, and then couple of other scenes in between and then back to the similar scene (so this time it ends up being on dxB).

How do you copy all the (static) automation parameters from first scene on dxA tracks to similar scene on dxB tracks?

Fastest way I’ve found is to select a short section from all dxA tracks of the first scene, then copy/paste automation to empty section on dxB, and then capture from there and so on. But this still feels like a workaround and has quite a lot of steps.

Is there a better way to capture automation from multiple tracks at once and then punch/write to different set of tracks?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2024, 09:52 AM
tope d's Avatar
tope d tope d is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 608
Default Re: Fastest workflow to copy static automation from a bunch of tracks to different on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Protone View Post
Let’s say you checkerboard dialog on two sets of 8 tracks, dxA1-8 and dxB1-8. You have a scene mixed on dxA, and then couple of other scenes in between and then back to the similar scene (so this time it ends up being on dxB).

How do you copy all the (static) automation parameters from first scene on dxA tracks to similar scene on dxB tracks?

Fastest way I’ve found is to select a short section from all dxA tracks of the first scene, then copy/paste automation to empty section on dxB, and then capture from there and so on. But this still feels like a workaround and has quite a lot of steps.

Is there a better way to capture automation from multiple tracks at once and then punch/write to different set of tracks?
Hi Protone,
Let me see what I can find on this and get back to you
__________________
-Tope

To create a support case with Avid Support, go to https://www.avid.com/learn-and-suppo...-music-support

www.topedomingo.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2024, 11:40 AM
audiolex1 audiolex1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Studio City
Posts: 497
Default Re: Fastest workflow to copy static automation from a bunch of tracks to different on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Protone View Post
Let’s say you checkerboard dialog on two sets of 8 tracks, dxA1-8 and dxB1-8. You have a scene mixed on dxA, and then couple of other scenes in between and then back to the similar scene (so this time it ends up being on dxB).

How do you copy all the (static) automation parameters from first scene on dxA tracks to similar scene on dxB tracks?

Fastest way I’ve found is to select a short section from all dxA tracks of the first scene, then copy/paste automation to empty section on dxB, and then capture from there and so on. But this still feels like a workaround and has quite a lot of steps.

Is there a better way to capture automation from multiple tracks at once and then punch/write to different set of tracks?
Highlight in the time line all the tracks you want to copy, from whatever timecard to timecode.

So DXA 1-8, 1.00.00.00 to 1.01.00.00
Edit - Copy Special - All Automation

Repeat selection for DXB 1-8
Edit - Paste Special - Repeat to Fill Selction

If you have panning automation, there is a pan copy as well.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1. 3.46 12 core, 128 gigs ram, 580 GPU flashed Apple EMI, 3 monitors
PT Ult 2023.6, OSX 10.14.6, 3 card PCI-e expansion with 3.2 USB Sonnet card.
OCTO 8 card, Apollo 8 Quad, UAD quad satellite FW.
Almost every plugin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2024, 09:20 AM
Protone Protone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 87
Default Re: Fastest workflow to copy static automation from a bunch of tracks to different on

Thank you both!

The workflow audiolex1 described is indeed faster and more straight forward than what I do currently. It does create lots of extra automation points if the area selected from "dxA" is short, but those can of course be thinned out (or ignored). If you copy a longer area, you have to be careful with any non static automation which may do weird things in the destination tracks.

It would be great if there was a way to store automation snapshots that could then be applied to any set of tracks that are compatible with the stored snapshot. But I guess such feature doesn't exist at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2024, 10:20 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,359
Default Re: Fastest workflow to copy static automation from a bunch of tracks to different on

you can OPT+ Capture automation across all tracks and then OPT_Punch the Capture across all tracks. So, if you're only dealing with DX tracks then this would work. Ideally you want to keep all DX from one scene on set A of tracks and DX on a another scene on set B. That way you're not needing to copy automation from the same scene across non scene related tracks.

Snapshots do exist but they only paste to the same tracks they were "snapped" from.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2024, 11:51 AM
audiolex1 audiolex1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Studio City
Posts: 497
Default Re: Fastest workflow to copy static automation from a bunch of tracks to different on

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
you can OPT+ Capture automation across all tracks and then OPT_Punch the Capture across all tracks. So, if you're only dealing with DX tracks then this would work. Ideally you want to keep all DX from one scene on set A of tracks and DX on a another scene on set B. That way you're not needing to copy automation from the same scene across non scene related tracks.

Snapshots do exist but they only paste to the same tracks they were "snapped" from.
But for capture to work, the automation has to be in write mode whether active or preview.
So you would need to tough all you want to capture. That would take a lot more time.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1. 3.46 12 core, 128 gigs ram, 580 GPU flashed Apple EMI, 3 monitors
PT Ult 2023.6, OSX 10.14.6, 3 card PCI-e expansion with 3.2 USB Sonnet card.
OCTO 8 card, Apollo 8 Quad, UAD quad satellite FW.
Almost every plugin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-05-2024, 12:31 PM
Protone Protone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 87
Default Re: Fastest workflow to copy static automation from a bunch of tracks to different on

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
you can OPT+ Capture automation across all tracks and then OPT_Punch the Capture across all tracks. So, if you're only dealing with DX tracks then this would work. Ideally you want to keep all DX from one scene on set A of tracks and DX on a another scene on set B. That way you're not needing to copy automation from the same scene across non scene related tracks.

Snapshots do exist but they only paste to the same tracks they were "snapped" from.
Yep, ideally I would keep all similar scenes on same tracks, but the shows I’m mixing do have so many repeating scenes that I’d need at least 4-5 sets of tracks to be able to do that.

That’s true about snapshots, I meant I wish there was the kind of snapshots that can be pasted to different tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-2024, 11:07 PM
kosmokrator kosmokrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 132
Default Re: Fastest workflow to copy static automation from a bunch of tracks to different on

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiolex1 View Post
But for capture to work, the automation has to be in write mode whether active or preview.
So you would need to tough all you want to capture. That would take a lot more time.
OPT+capture is 'capture all'.

It captures ALL tracks, unrelated to what automation mode they are in.

You can then punch that automation to all tracks (super dangerous!) or just to selected tracks (with shift-alt-punch).
It also respects which automation type is enabled or disabled, so you can get pretty granular with it.

Of course you can also store the different 'capture all' statuses into snapshots, and punch them to different selected tracks as needed.

It's a workflow that many people are not aware of but is quite powerful.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fastest way to export committed tracks Thenewexhibit Pro Tools 2018 2 07-30-2018 03:33 PM
Importing session data adds a bunch of automation points! DJ Hellfire Pro Tools 10 13 03-11-2013 08:45 AM
Copy Automation between mono and stereo tracks matze1977 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-21-2010 02:01 AM
Fastest Way to Turn Down the Level of all tracks ! Peulock Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 07-29-2003 09:51 PM
how to record enable bunch of tracks at once? LEVON 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-19-2002 01:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com