Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2024, 10:22 PM
rosshc44 rosshc44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Toronto
Posts: 27
Default How to open ADM using the Internal Renderer?

Hey all,

I was wondering how one would go about playing an ADM file in pro tools using the internal renderer. Using the external one, you can open it in there and it decodes it to the speakers. Is there a way to do that with the internal one?
I tried import session data-ing the adm file into a session and sent it to the renderer but that didn’t sound quite right.

Any help would be appreciate.

Cheers.

- Ross
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2024, 10:02 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,358
Default Re: How to open ADM using the Internal Renderer?

only way to play an ADM file through the internal renderer is to import the ADM like you did using Import Session Data.

Not sure why doing this or what doesn't sound "quite right" for you. Perhaps check all your routing and bussing in Pro Tools to the internal renderer.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2024, 05:38 PM
rosshc44 rosshc44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Toronto
Posts: 27
Default Re: How to open ADM using the Internal Renderer?

Thanks. So it brings in the metadata from the adm when you import via import session data? Maybe I didn’t have all the parameters checked or something…will try again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2024, 05:33 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,358
Default Re: How to open ADM using the Internal Renderer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rosshc44 View Post
Thanks. So it brings in the metadata from the adm when you import via import session data? Maybe I didn’t have all the parameters checked or something…will try again.
Correct
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2024, 07:50 AM
rosshc44 rosshc44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Toronto
Posts: 27
Default Re: How to open ADM using the Internal Renderer?

Can confirm this does work, but should be opened into a blank session. You have to make sure the objects that import from the ADM don't share object routing from anything else prerouted in the session or only the beds will play. Other than that, it works well.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2024, 08:19 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,358
Default Re: How to open ADM using the Internal Renderer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rosshc44 View Post
Can confirm this does work, but should be opened into a blank session. You have to make sure the objects that import from the ADM don't share object routing from anything else prerouted in the session or only the beds will play. Other than that, it works well.
Of course. That’s how objects work. Tracks assigned to the same object output can only share the master objects panning information. If you assign multiple tracks to the same object, you only use one of those tracks for the panning. Therefore. If you import an ADM into a session that already has the same object output in it with panning metadata already, you’re not going to get the proper information imported from the ADM.

If you want to import an ADM into an existing session then you have ti make sure there are free beds and objects available in your session to map accordingly and overlap anything pre-existing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2024, 11:45 PM
Dr Fletch Dr Fletch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 50
Default Re: How to open ADM using the Internal Renderer?

Sorry for joining in here……
So it’s my understanding that the only way to pull in an ADM to A/B it against your mix is to use an external renderer. Say for example you are making updates to a previous mix and need to compare.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-08-2024, 04:54 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,358
Default Re: How to open ADM using the Internal Renderer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Fletch View Post
Sorry for joining in here……
So it’s my understanding that the only way to pull in an ADM to A/B it against your mix is to use an external renderer. Say for example you are making updates to a previous mix and need to compare.
Correct. Or, import it into another DAW that supports ADM files. Or, convert it to an Atmos MP4 and play it back in iTunes on a Mac.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-2024, 02:50 PM
Dr Fletch Dr Fletch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 50
Default Re: How to open ADM using the Internal Renderer?

Works really well using the Dolby renderer to play back ADM’s for comparison. They can easily share the playback engine. Something that was unthinkable not so long ago.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internal Renderer Uses CPU Resources When Not In Use ZoeMusic Pro Tools 0 01-11-2024 11:56 AM
Internal Renderer 2.0 Re-Render issue paulo m Post - Surround - Video 2 01-04-2024 04:14 PM
Dolby internal renderer: is it possible to fake speaker monitoring? moshuajusic Pro Tools 3 12-25-2023 08:45 AM
Printing internal Dolby Atmos Renderer christian kuntner Pro Tools 3 12-21-2023 12:36 AM
Finally possible to properly genlock rig with internal renderer? Frank Kruse Pro Tools 2 12-18-2023 08:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com