Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2024, 02:53 PM
paulo m's Avatar
paulo m paulo m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 423
Default Internal Renderer 2.0 Re-Render issue

Hi,

I did some tests with the Dolby Atmos integrated renderer in PT 2023.12, just for the sake of comparing to the external renderer.

I started by creating a mono track, inserted Signal Generator plugin with pink noise and panned to the bed, object or object/bed, monitoring the two channel re-render set to binaural, coming into PT on a stereo Aux, selecting the appropriate re-render input. Output of that Aux going to my headphone preamp. All fine. I used pink noise just to check routings, could have used a sine as well.

Then I switched the same re-render in the renderer to 2.0 to check. If the signal from the mono track panner is center channel, it´s fine, but as soon as you place it to any other channel (on the bed) or anywhere as an object, it sounds completely out of phase and sounds terrible.

Does anybody experienced this? I mean, not with pink noise, but with the 2.0 re-render on normal operation? Thanks.

EDIT: Tests run with the Downmix Settings as default (Lo/Ro). Altering the 5.1/2.0 downmix setting to either Direct Render or Direct Render with Room Balance produced the same result.
__________________
Regards,

Paulo M

MAC Studio MAX M1_64 GB RAM_1TB SSD_MAC OS Ventura

Protools Studio 2024.3

Last edited by paulo m; 01-04-2024 at 03:01 PM. Reason: Addon info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2024, 03:20 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,358
Default Re: Internal Renderer 2.0 Re-Render issue

Is this the same issue?

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=427141
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2024, 04:14 PM
paulo m's Avatar
paulo m paulo m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 423
Default Re: Internal Renderer 2.0 Re-Render issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
It may be related only in terms of the description of "phasey" but in my case the issue I described has nothing to do with Object size or ADM Bounces. It´s just a simple and plain mono track being hard panned to either a Bed or as an Object and monitored as a live re-render 2.0 output from the internal renderer fed as an input into an Aux in PT. It only sounds OK when hard panned to the Center position. Panned to any other position in the soundfield sounds horrible.
__________________
Regards,

Paulo M

MAC Studio MAX M1_64 GB RAM_1TB SSD_MAC OS Ventura

Protools Studio 2024.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dolby Atmos Internal Renderer Incorrect Playback on Monitors Syncbox Post Pro Tools 3 01-04-2024 06:25 AM
Dolby internal renderer: is it possible to fake speaker monitoring? moshuajusic Pro Tools 3 12-25-2023 08:45 AM
Printing internal Dolby Atmos Renderer christian kuntner Pro Tools 3 12-21-2023 12:36 AM
Finally possible to properly genlock rig with internal renderer? Frank Kruse Pro Tools 2 12-18-2023 08:02 AM
Pro Tools 2023.12 Internal Dolby Atmos Renderer Questions and Setup Update bolisound Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 3 12-15-2023 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com