Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2024, 02:23 PM
RSLAMBERT RSLAMBERT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 45
Default Exponential Audio Stratus and Syphony 3d/2023.12

These plugins have stopped working properly in 23.12. I can only select track widths of 7.1 or less. Did the usual prefs trash etc…Reverted back to 23.9 and they worked fine. What with renderer issues and this I shall be sticking with 23.9 for a while longer.
Mac Studio 13.6.2
MacStudioUltra 13.6.2
96 gbs ram.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2024, 12:28 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,291
Default Re: Exponential Audio Stratus and Syphony 3d/2023.12

Greetings,

There is an issue specific to those Exponential 3D Reverbs and Pro Tools 23.12.

Make sure you have the latest installers which should be v 3.2. Trash the new plug-in cache in the following location: Users>Shared>Pro Tools>AAXPluginCache

Launch Pro Tools 23.9 and ensure that you can instantiate an immersive width version of Stratus and Symphony. Quit PT 23.9. Launch Pro Tools 23.12.

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions
S6 FAQ
MTRX FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2024, 10:23 AM
milosziv milosziv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 55
Default Re: Exponential Audio Stratus and Syphony 3d/2023.12

Still having a problem opening up Stratus3D in native - it's only working using Rosetta. I don't have 23.9, just 23.12 - but otherwise followed the procedure of trashing the AAX Cache and it still wouldn't run Stratus 3D. The website says it can run natively now - is that not the case?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2024, 10:47 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,291
Default Re: Exponential Audio Stratus and Syphony 3d/2023.12

Yes it does. Grab 23.9 from either your Avid Account or the Download Center. Go to your Applications folder and rename Pro Tools to Pro Tools 23.12 first. After installing 23.9, rename Pro Tools to Pro Tools 23.9. Follow the instructions above. This will work.

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions
S6 FAQ
MTRX FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2024, 11:01 AM
milosziv milosziv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 55
Default Re: Exponential Audio Stratus and Syphony 3d/2023.12

Okay, quite the workaround to get a plugin to work - but I appreciate your letting us know how to do it. Hopefully this is all resolved with the next PT update though as well. Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2024, 11:51 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,291
Default Re: Exponential Audio Stratus and Syphony 3d/2023.12

This is resolved in the next version of Pro Tools.

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions
S6 FAQ
MTRX FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-2024, 10:37 AM
colinato colinato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 162
Default Re: Exponential Audio Stratus and Syphony 3d/2023.12

Sorry, Jeff. Can you clarify for me?

If I already have 23.12 installed, do I need to roll back to 23.9, follow the instructions, then update to 23.12? Or does 23.12 not work at all with Symphony/Stratus 3D in immersive formats? Trying to open a session created prior to 23.12 that has Symphony 7.1.2 instantiated and cannot get it to work yet.


I'm running 23.12 on an Intel iMac Pro, Symphony3D 3.2.

Best,
Colin

Last edited by colinato; 01-12-2024 at 11:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-12-2024, 11:54 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,291
Default Re: Exponential Audio Stratus and Syphony 3d/2023.12

Our team always recommends having a few different versions (current plus maybe 2 back) of Pro Tools which are compatible with the currently blessed and installed macOS version:
https://avidtech.my.salesforce-sites...tibility-Chart

Whenever you install a new version of Pro Tools - after the installer finishes, simply rename Pro Tools to Pro Tools 23.12 or 23.9 or whatever the version is. This way you can very easily quit one and launch another if you run into a snag with no downtime. If you don't rename - Pro Tools will simply overwrite the legacy with the latest Pro Tools version and you will have one version in your Applications folder. As an aside, it is not necessary to install / update the HD driver (assuming you are on HDX HDN) every time you install a new version of Pro Tools.
https://avidtech.my.salesforce-sites...411&popup=true

This Exponential/iZotope/NativeInstruments reverb issue - is somewhat novel as there is a single .aaxplugin file for Stratus and Symphony regardless if you own the immersive versions or not.

The issue happened when we optimized the plug-in cache in Pro Tools 23.12.
https://avidtech.my.salesforce-sites...Notes#features

All you need to do is have Pro Tools 23.9 and Pro Tools 23.12 on your system by the process described above. Trash the modern plug-in cache which can be found here:
/Users/Shared/Pro Tools/AAXPlugInCache

Now launch Pro Tools 23.9 and open your session and verify that Stratus 3D and Symphony 3D are instantiated properly within your projects. Quit Pro Tools 23.9. Now Launch Pro Tools 23.12 and it will use that chunk of the legacy cache for those plug-ins and should see and restore the plug-ins in the proper manner in Pro Tools 23.12.

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions
S6 FAQ
MTRX FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-12-2024, 12:25 PM
colinato colinato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 162
Default Re: Exponential Audio Stratus and Syphony 3d/2023.12

Thank you, Jeff. Appreciate the explanation. That did the trick.

Last edited by colinato; 01-12-2024 at 01:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-17-2024, 01:09 PM
cablenaute's Avatar
cablenaute cablenaute is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Spain (Madrid)
Posts: 31
Default Re: Exponential Audio Stratus and Syphony 3d/2023.12

Hi,

I've been working on a few projects flawlessly these past months.
Everything was working just fine.

I was switching from PT Ultimate 2023.12 and 2023.9 whether my working session had a multi-channel Stratus 3d or not.

This morning I installed 2023.12.1, and now the sessions where I have Stratus 3d Stereo>7.1.2 won't open anymore.
Protools loads the session, but finally crashes before opening the edit window.They won't open in 2023.12.1, 2023.9 nor 2023.6

I've trashed /Users/Shared/Pro Tools/AAXPlugInCache and used PG PT Prefs 2 with no luck.

If I remove "Stratus.aaxplugin" from the Plug-Ins folder, the session loads just fine.

I've just opened the same session on my laptop (2023.6), it opens just fine with stratus in its right place…

May PT 2023.12.1 have changed/written something somewhere?

Thanks for your help!


EDIT 240123: My bad, some kind of conflict between Stratus3D and Penteo inserted on the same track. Reverted to an older version of Penteo fixed the issue…
__________________
MacPro7,1_12Core • ProToolsUltimate • DolbyAtmosRenderer • Avid_S1 • MetricHalo_2882_3d • UnityAudio_TheRockMKII

Last edited by cablenaute; 01-23-2024 at 09:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exponential Stratus 3-D and Symphony 3-D to Apple Silicon dr sound Post - Surround - Video 13 11-02-2023 12:14 AM
FS: Exponential Audio Symphony 3D & Stratus 3D license bundles LDS Buy & Sell 2 07-05-2022 12:15 AM
FS: Exponential Audio Stratus 3D & Symphony 3D JaimeGB Buy & Sell 0 10-10-2021 06:23 AM
Exponential Audio Stratus is amassing for post! mgoorevich Post - Surround - Video 10 11-27-2017 06:20 PM
Exponential Audio Announcing Stratus and Symphony dr sound Post - Surround - Video 0 10-30-2017 07:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com