Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2013, 04:53 AM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,262
Default feature request for video offset via PCI output

Because of my work flow and the number of different projects I work simultaneously, I often need to be switching back and forth between different 'video PCI delay offsets' (28 quarter frames if working in Pro-Res HD/ 26 quarter frames for SD video/ 22 quarter frames in H.264 if it has key frames every frame/no offset if working on the desktop/etc). I would like to ask for the 'video offset' to be saved with the session so that each session can have a different video offset if needed. Also, the video offset should only be able to be made active if the video is being outputted via external card (like through a PCI blackmagic).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2013, 06:22 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,413
Default Re: feature request for video offset via PCI output

+1

garnoil, can you put this on Ideascale and link it here?
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Producer/Re-recording Mixer - New York
Nathaniel Reichman | IMDB | LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2013, 06:38 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,974
Default Re: feature request for video offset via PCI output

Saving a the video offset with the session is a bad idea for most post workflows. I don't want any surprises when I playback video like, the session was sent from room a with a 20 frame offset when I need 12 frames.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2013, 06:54 AM
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Lightbulb Re: feature request for video offset via PCI output

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
Saving a the video offset with the session is a bad idea for most post workflows. I don't want any surprises when I playback video like, the session was sent from room a with a 20 frame offset when I need 12 frames.
+1
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2013, 07:10 AM
nucelar's Avatar
nucelar nucelar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 403
Default Re: feature request for video offset via PCI output

There could be an extra dialog window during the import of a video file. something like: "you're importing a video file that has following properties (from file), please enter the video offset if needed"
It could even remember which codecs need which offset. But I agree it should change the system Preference, never go with the session.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2013, 12:56 PM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,262
Default Re: feature request for video offset via PCI output

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
Saving a the video offset with the session is a bad idea for most post workflows. I don't want any surprises when I playback video like, the session was sent from room a with a 20 frame offset when I need 12 frames.
Ok, I can appreciate others may not agree but how about if this was a 'preference' as in "save video off set with session" or not (this would satisfy both points of view)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-07-2013, 01:54 PM
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Lightbulb Re: feature request for video offset via PCI output

Quote:
Originally Posted by garnoil View Post
Ok, I can appreciate others may not agree but how about if this was a 'preference' as in "save video off set with session" or not (this would satisfy both points of view)
If this were to be a preference, it needs some consistency with how such preferences already work. For example, in Setup-->I/O there is a preference labeled Sessions overwrite current I/O Setup when opened. If the preference you are suggesting here were to be implemented, and its behavior were to be consistent with the one I just referenced, then it would be located in Setup-->Video Sync Offset and it would be labeled Sessions overwrite current Video Sync Offset when opened. You would need to know what to change your Video Sync Offset to should you choose to overwrite that value and then need to restore the previous value afterwards.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-07-2013, 09:49 PM
Nathan W. Nathan W. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Moorpark, CA
Posts: 536
Default Re: feature request for video offset via PCI output

Good idea. Yeah some sort of device to constantly monitor our external video screen and auto-adjust an offset. It's something critical you don't want to think about nor "monitor." Maybe a camera that would focus on the external monitor and somehow compare that with the video in the session and set an offset automatically. That's probably a sucky idea for some reason I can't think of right now. Just an idea, don't judge me. :)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-08-2013, 02:00 AM
Sonopolis Sonopolis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 434
Lightbulb Re: feature request for video offset via PCI output

I think it would help a lot if we could store a descriptive list of offsets for different codecs and setups (DNxHD36 on Blackmagic w/Plasma, ect...) in the preferences.

This Offset Preference should be ex- and importable to identical machines and one offset could be chosen for each video track (assuming you're using one codec per track) individually.

If a setting is not present on the machine you're opening the session on, you should be asked weather to take the setting from the session or to use a default.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-08-2013, 03:13 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,997
Default Re: feature request for video offset via PCI output

I'm against a setting that sticks to the session for the mentioned reasons. It's a parameter of the hardware (video card and screen/projector) not the session itself. But I would like to see the value in the "grey matter" at the top of the edit window as part of the synchronization module. There's still a lot of unused space up there.

The value is set in one second. I see no advantage in importing it. Takes longer to import it than to just punch in the number, IMO.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2024.3.1 (OSX13.6.7), 8x8x8, MacPro 14,8, Decklink SDI 4k, SYNC HD, Nanosyncs HD, 64GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grid Offset feature request Mark Haliday Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-01-2024 07:47 AM
Feature request: BITC video plugin MIKEROPHONICS Post - Surround - Video 6 10-14-2010 02:50 AM
HD Video Playback-FEATURE REQUEST lafrosty Post - Surround - Video 23 12-02-2007 10:36 PM
Output Feature Request soundfx Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 07-07-2006 07:12 PM
Major Request for Video Feature In Pro Tools moogboy100 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-09-2005 07:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com