Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2012, 09:02 AM
Therein2 Therein2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 12
Default PT9 Squeal followed by muted tracks

I have been having this issue nonstop for the past month. I haven't found information on this specific problem. Usually during playback I get a loud bleep/squeal noise that can be stopped by pressing the space bar. After this happens various tracks have no sound. It's never the same tracks and it doesn't matter if it's an audio or instrument track. I can bring the tracks back by making them individually inactive and active again. You can see how time consuming this is and it has made pro tools pretty much useless considering how often it happens.

I'm using...
Pro Tools 9.0.6
003 rack
Mac Pro Quad-Core Intel Xeon w/ 8 GB memory and 2.8 Ghz processing speed

If anyone has any ideas please help me out. I was planning on recording up in the mountains next week, but with this happening so often it doesn't make much sense.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2012, 10:36 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,357
Default Re: PT9 Squeal followed by muted tracks

Sounds like odd behavior to me, and trashing prefs is step #1 for odd behavior
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2012, 12:11 PM
Therein2 Therein2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 12
Default Re: PT9 Squeal followed by muted tracks

I did an uninstall/reinstall but the problem remains
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2012, 06:11 PM
Therein2 Therein2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 12
Default Re: PT9 Squeal followed by muted tracks

Nobody's experienced this? I don't want to fork over $40 to call avid support but I have got to get this figured out.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-24-2012, 08:43 PM
Therein2 Therein2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 12
Default Re: PT9 Squeal followed by muted tracks

I deleted prefs and haven't noticed a problem with the above issue thus far; however, plugins on a new session are extremely distorted and kore player just won't even begin to work. All these things are adding up faster than I can think.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2012, 09:33 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,737
Default Re: PT9 Squeal followed by muted tracks

I believe therein lies the problem……….bhahahah….I couldn't resist - ok Im cool……we r good.


So are you running off the 003 and if so change to the core audio playback engine - (Disconnect the interface) What happens ? Problem still there?

another idea just came…..please tell me your not running lion?????

SL 10.6.8 here and no issues. when i got the mac i specifically told them to load SL b/c anything else is not supported fully by avid…..The Pre-Beta-think-i-might-ought-to-release-something update doesn't quite cut it when you want to trip to the woods and lay down some tracks……

So if you on SL - then try running w/o the interface……Then try it on a new session……(you didn't mention if it was on all sessions) see what happens.

what is your playback engine setup for ? Low buffer settings….????
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-25-2012, 09:54 AM
Therein2 Therein2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 12
Default Re: PT9 Squeal followed by muted tracks

YYR123, nice one! I a, using SL not Lion. I have heard the horror stories of Lion. I set my playback engine to Built-In output, but I'm still getting the squeal. My buffer size while recording is 256 Samples, 6 Processors and 85% CPU usage limit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to unmute all muted tracks music_al Pro Tools 10 2 08-19-2012 06:34 PM
Tracks Not Muted During Recording A_Guy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-20-2009 08:11 AM
Muted Tracks Can Be Heard beau johnson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-29-2007 05:15 PM
Do muted tracks/plugins use CPU? davetron5000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-06-2005 01:47 PM
Hearing Audio with tracks muted nvtmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-26-2004 01:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com