Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2010, 07:38 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,769
Default Switching between blue and green Tempo Ruler?

I understand what the difference is between the blue and the green color in the tempo ruler. I am just wondering if there is an easy way to switch between these modes. I can't find it in the manual.

For example:

Switch between THIS

and

THIS
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2020.5
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.15.4
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2010, 07:56 AM
cneal92's Avatar
cneal92 cneal92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Lubbock, TX USA
Posts: 530
Default Re: Switching between blue and green Tempo Ruler?

Cmd (mac) click on the "+" symbol next to the ruler title (where you would click to add a tempo event), and then choose the mode you want.
__________________
Chris Neal :: South Plains College
.: Program Coordinator & Asst. Professor in Sound Technology
.: cneal@southplainscollege.edu
.: Pro Tools Certified Instructor
.: Pro Tools Expert Certified in Music
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2010, 08:31 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,769
Default Re: Switching between blue and green Tempo Ruler?

Awesome! That is exactly what I was looking for.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2020.5
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.15.4
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2010, 12:16 PM
Mark Dann Mark Dann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: NYC, USA
Posts: 764
Default Re: Switching between blue and green Tempo Ruler?

What IS the difference between the blue and green modes? (I must have been out that day...)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2010, 05:03 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,769
Default Re: Switching between blue and green Tempo Ruler?

I don't know if I can explain it well, but here I go.

The blue tempo ruler is basically what you use when you want to identify certain beats in your project by using either Beat Detective or Identify Beat command. The scenario here is that a track is recorded without the click track and you want to go through and identify the beats of the track. The tempo changes between beat identifiers based on how far you place them.

The green tempo ruler allows you to adjust the tempo between the beat identifiers which changes the beat identifier's placement. This is basically the mode I am in after I have identified the beat throughout the project and I want to change the tempo of sections of my project (changes tick based tracks). Green is the default.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2020.5
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.15.4
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you know if you have a Green, Blue or non Green or Blue Drive mccoyrare@yahoo.com Pro Tools 10 14 12-25-2013 12:13 AM
Blinking green/solid blue - no playback huntmooses Pro Tools 10 1 12-19-2011 11:56 PM
Calculate tempo does not match tempo ruler sssonic Pro Tools 9 1 11-07-2011 10:34 AM
Problems with Tempo Ruler in PT8 Ottosmu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-24-2009 08:29 AM
Switching between ruler modes without mouse poncival Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-17-2004 01:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com