Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2003, 10:13 PM
lance bug lance bug is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
Default PT Free& peripheral inputs

I know I'm dumb but how in short do you get PT Free to recognize inputs from either a usb-midi input or a usb ad/da input I am running on an imac 400mhz and if it is of any consequence I am using an edirol UA-20. Iknow the easy solution is just to upgrade to an mbox, but that will have to wait til x-mas. Thanks, Lance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2003, 07:05 AM
Deirdre B's Avatar
Deirdre B Deirdre B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: South Berwick, Maine
Posts: 211
Default Re: PT Free& peripheral inputs

The input source must be recognized by the Mac Sound Manager. Check your Sound control panel with the USB unit plugged in--if it shows up on the menu, you can choose it as an input source. If it's not there, you're farked.

MBrane probably knows by heart if those interfaces work with Sound Manager.

yrz,
DB
__________________
Spiffy i7 Mac Mini
2 SSDs
Yosemite 10.10.5
PT 11
----
Never Stop Playing.
DBCooperVO.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2003, 09:16 AM
M.Brane M.Brane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 1hr N/W of LA LA land
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: PT Free& peripheral inputs

Quote:
The input source must be recognized by the Mac Sound Manager. Check your Sound control panel with the USB unit plugged in--if it shows up on the menu, you can choose it as an input source. If it's not there, you're farked.

MBrane probably knows by heart if those interfaces work with Sound Manager.

yrz,
DB
LOL! Thanks for the vote of confidence Deirdre.

The only USB device I've tried myself is the Edirol UA-3. Just plug it in & go. You'll need to choose the device as your sound input in the control panel before you launch PTF. If it shows up there, and in ASP under the USB devices list it should work. You may have latency issues though.

Unfortunately the UA-3 had popping, clicking, and random bursts of 0db pink noise on my system with both PTF and iTunes. Probably due to the fact I'm using a Tempo Trio card for USB in my hot-rodded 8600. I'll be sending it back to it's owner though he had similar issues with it on his PC.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sync peripheral asef@me.com Pro Tools 10 2 07-20-2013 06:15 PM
Legacy Peripheral with PT7? JRC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-05-2005 09:40 AM
PT Free, No Audio inputs on g4's, and digi ccstudios Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 04-23-2001 04:02 PM
Free PT But no audio inputs on G4 mar68 Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 03-08-2001 08:55 AM
sp/ dif inputs and PT Free finchmob Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 02-21-2001 10:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com