Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-02-2002, 09:23 AM
donpietra donpietra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: london, uk
Posts: 52
Default Avid file compatibility... HELP!

Hi! I have the following silly problem. My customer does video editing on an AVID DVXpress (PC based). I do sound post for him on my PT system (G4, PT5.1)... When I finish my editing, I bounce to disk creating a WAV 16/48 file for him to import, and burn a CD. He can open the file on QT or any other similar stuff on his PC, but cannot import the file into AVID. I have resorted to bounce to disk enforcing AVID compatibility and that works, but any idea why a simple WAV 16/48 won´t do? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2002, 04:02 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,800
Default Re: Avid file compatibility... HELP!

Hi Don,

If your working with interchange stuff with people using AVID systems you'd be much happier with ProTools 5.1.3 and Digitranslator 2.0 rather than ProTools 5.1. That aside....

Instead of "enforce avid compatbility mode" which is only available on ProTools 5.1.3 while creating OMF files, you must be talking about "enforce mac/pc compatiblity". What that does is simply make sure that the naming conventions for PCs apply to the files your creating on macs.

Bryan
Digi Tech Support
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2002, 01:57 AM
donpietra donpietra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: london, uk
Posts: 52
Default Re: Avid file compatibility... HELP!

thanks for your reply...

I meant "avid compatibility" set in the preferences menu...

I have spoken to other Avid DV Xpress users since then and it appears they have also had problems importing files created on a Mac based PT...

Thanks for your help!

Donpietra
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2002, 02:29 AM
Paul Greyson Paul Greyson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Daly City, CA, USA
Posts: 397
Default Re: Avid file compatibility... HELP!

I don't know why the ExpressDV doesn't accept a PT wave file. If you don't want to use the "Avid Compatibility Mode/Bounce" option, you might try AIFF instead. Or you could upgrade to 5.1.3 w/ DigiTranslator 2.0 and get "Export Selected Regions as Files" w/ Avid Compatibility mode (in addition to bounce) which is a little more convenient in some cases than bouncing.
__________________
Paul Greyson
Digidesign Engineering
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
File Compatibility fo LE 7.4 RyanDrum 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-26-2010 07:03 PM
MP and LE file compatibility Mason Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 06-08-2005 11:46 AM
WAV file compatibility bearease Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-23-2005 11:28 PM
File Compatibility: Reverse Corruption 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-15-2004 03:16 PM
Avid 1000 File Compatibility Question Eugene Hartman Post - Surround - Video 2 03-05-2000 12:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com