Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:24 PM
mikef585 mikef585 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 50
Default Please someone...tell me what I did wrong!!!

I performed my first session this week. Luckily, I was happy with it so I bounced to disk and burned it. Today when I opened session, all 49 audio files were like...GONE!! It asked me to do a relink...it asked me to do either a manual or automatic fine...of which I found nothing. What did I do wrong that would jeopardize all these files. I even restored my computer a day earlier with no success. Has this happened to anyone? If so, I dont want it to happen again. Help!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:45 PM
JBT24 JBT24 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Default Re: Please someone...tell me what I did wrong!!!

Bro, the same thing happened to me last week. I had a data recovery specialist come in and everything. He said not only was there no trace of the audio files, there was no empty space where they would have been. I've been a PT user for about 5 years no with no problems. I'm running the latest version of protools, and the fact that you had the same problem has got me fairly freaked out. My only advice is: Get a backup of EVERYTHING you do. I'm sorry man. Maybe you'll have better luck finding the things than I did.

/comfort

JBT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:53 PM
Keith Owens Keith Owens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: Please someone...tell me what I did wrong!!!

What version of PT?

You two guys need to email each other and go step by step to find out what you both did that is the same, and get back here to us asap.

thanks
__________________
soon to be back at it again...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:56 PM
mikef585 mikef585 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 50
Default Re: Please someone...tell me what I did wrong!!!

Thanks for the heartfelt thoughts. Me, on the other hand have only been using it for a week. So, I lost only one session. Its no biggie but it would take me an hour or so to get it up again. I had 8 tracks. I am sure that I will think of a more sure-fire backup...even if I have to copy the session to my other computer, since I'm networked. I know you can backup sessions with PT, and I will certainly make any future efforts to do that.

thanks again.......mike
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:58 PM
mikef585 mikef585 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 50
Default Re: Please someone...tell me what I did wrong!!!

6.4 and I cant email you the order of steps. I went to reload session today and all 49 audio files were missing. I think I will call PT tomorrow and tell them someone else had the same problem I did.

mike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-15-2005, 08:26 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Please someone...tell me what I did wrong!!!

Are you running the latest version of 6.4?

6.4cs6 plugin update
6.4cs9 program update

Both are important bugfix upgrades for 6.4.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong file is being played and waveform is wrong jmullins 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-30-2010 12:29 AM
Something is REALLY wrong with my Mac...! KingAce 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 01-23-2010 06:55 PM
What am I doing wrong?!?! a kremer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-29-2005 02:19 PM
What Am I Doing Wrong??? Kenny Gioia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 09-19-2003 06:41 PM
I was wrong... Fletcher Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 40 12-02-2002 02:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com