Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2006, 09:19 AM
delta delta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 61
Default Varying delays between different preamps

I am runnig a C24(focusrite preamps),TL audio M3 tube tracker,Drawmer 1960 tube compressor,Jo Meek VC1q voice channel, as pre-amps for my TDM HD system.I have noticed that I get varying amounts of delay from the differnt preamps.If recording drums I might use channels of all the pre-amps,
and on inspection of the wave forms the focusrites are quickest,the M3 shows a delay of 35samples,and at worst where I use say the 1960 and VC1q in line I get approx 100 samples.Yeah it's not much but it makes editing live drums awkward,especially as the quickest preamps still show a delay to the grid .When working to a click using real instruments and players it makes it hard to Know where the 1st beat of a bar actually is.

If anyone has had similar encounters and found a way of compensating for the varying delays,preferably in real time I would be most grateful.

ONZ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2006, 08:26 AM
Dino Medanhodzic Dino Medanhodzic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Varying delays between different preamps

isn´t this maby a phase issue?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2006, 09:51 AM
Paolo Costola Paolo Costola is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: Varying delays between different preamps

Hi, sounds like you're using different converters (i.e. 192,96 and maybe 888 or 882 on the legacy port) that do have different conversion delays..
In this case you can get rid of the problem by activating the "compensate after recording" option in your ProTools preferences.

Paolo Costola
MacWave Studios
Brescia, Italy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording latency varying between sessions ? ? ilovemusic Pro Tools 11 3 10-27-2013 04:45 PM
M-Audio 410 preamps better/same/worse than Digi 001 preamps? SixChurchStreet Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 02-20-2008 12:08 PM
Focusrite Preamps and Digi 002 Preamps ?? rj333 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-01-2004 09:19 AM
varying plug-in settings Hrishikesh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-29-2002 01:04 AM
Varying speeds on playback Chicago 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-28-2001 05:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com