Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2007, 10:25 AM
kindkind kindkind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 186
Default I\'m dumping PT if:

there is no 88K/96k adat support on the upcoming 003. this is just another usefull tactic employed by a smart company. I will have to learn logic but learning can be good...

P.S. i really want to keep PT!

Is there a chance in hell digi will support high res on adat?
__________________
4,1>5,1 2x3.33, 96gb, NVME session & sample drives, 10.14.6, 2020.12 ultimate, HDN, Aurora 16 LTHD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2007, 02:10 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: I\'m dumping PT if:

Dude, i have felt the same way for a long time and only wish that i could love Logic as much as Pro Tools, just think the MOTU Pre or the TC Konnekt 24d. The bottom line is that Logic is a nightmare, i spent months trying to get to grips with it and it just doesn't cut it, i found it very buggy and very finnicky, not too mention unintuitive. Obviously this is my opinion and not fact.

Cheers
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2007, 02:23 PM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Allison Park, PA (Near Pittsburgh)
Posts: 5,099
Default Re: I\'m dumping PT if:

..but I 2nd your opinion.

I spent the entire week between xmas and New Years buried in Logic Pro trying to come up to speed - 2 3rd party manuals and the Apple documentation as well. I'm still not there, and there is definitely a long bug list for it. LogicProHelp has one of the bug lists if you want to check it out.

Ever wonder why there are three heavily-traffic'ed forums JUST for Logic help? [plus at least two mailing lists that I know of]

Many are hopeful about Logic 8, but it will probably take 8.1 or so before it's stable.

As far as support of 96K on ADAT...isn't that a limitation of the ADAT protocol? You have to use S/MUX and get half the number of channels. I don't think anyone can offer 96k AND 8 channels via ADAT. It would be 96K and 4 channels at best.



__________________
Larry

PT 2021; MacBookPro M1; 16GB; Spectrasonics; Native Instruments, Toontrack, Waves...too many plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2007, 05:04 PM
lamp lamp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 571
Default Re: I\'m dumping PT if:

Quote:
..but I 2nd your opinion.



As far as support of 96K on ADAT...isn't that a limitation of the ADAT protocol? You have to use S/MUX and get half the number of channels. I don't think anyone can offer 96k AND 8 channels via ADAT. It would be 96K and 4 channels at best.




All they need to do is add another adat conection. They could offer 8 channels at 88k with smux and 2 lightpipe conections, plus 8 more at 88k with the onboard converters.
2 more with SPDIF?

ADC Too!.

Digi there are a millon guys like me who love PT, but will never afford or justify the cost of HD for a home or project studio.

If they don't do this SOON!!!!! Im going to jump also.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2007, 05:33 PM
kindkind kindkind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 186
Default Re: I\'m dumping PT if:

hey..im sure there have to be people out there satisfied with logic, but i know PT, just like you guys i dont want to endure the learning curve...


Hey you are right that the adat wont carry all 8 channels with 96. why not give us two adat ports, or at LEAST give us the option of using 4 at 96k. that would be ok with me. I know that most 8 channel converters out there give you a bunch of output options and one of them is 2x adat for either mirror of the 8 channel 44k feed or 1-4 @ 96 & 5-8 @96 !
__________________
4,1>5,1 2x3.33, 96gb, NVME session & sample drives, 10.14.6, 2020.12 ultimate, HDN, Aurora 16 LTHD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2007, 11:13 PM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: I\'m dumping PT if:

Quote:
Ever wonder why there are three heavily-traffic'ed forums JUST for Logic help? [plus at least two mailing lists that I know of]
Haven't really noticed
I recently started using Logic and finds it MUCH easier to compose and arrange in, for mixing though I'll still probably blast up Pro Tools.
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-14-2007, 12:14 AM
dubaifox dubaifox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dubai U.A.E.
Posts: 1,245
Default Re: I\'m dumping PT if:

I am curious what an LE user is doing that REQUIRES 88 and 96 recording.

Most people, even in the big studios with HD are still using 44.1 and 48.
__________________
International Award Winning Arabic Fusion
www.ajmusiconline.com
---------------
2xMacPro 2.66,002r,OSX 10.4.10,PT 7.4cs8
3xVisionDaw,NI Komplete,Yamaha 01V/96
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2007, 12:49 AM
comprodman's Avatar
comprodman comprodman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, England
Posts: 261
Default Re: I\'m dumping PT if:

I dont understand it either? I have been a PT user since V3 at studios and at home since the release of the 002. The highest I ever record at is 44.1 24 bit, it is wonderful for broadcast, most things I record are broadcast on Radio and TV, I produce CD's which are 44.1 16 bit and those sound wonderful. I could understand using 88 or 96 if I was recording a full orchestra with 24 neumanns and it was going on a 5.1 mix, but recording a live band or just a standard piece of work, you will never hear the dif. I am happy to be proved wrong, but I have worked at 96 and in the final mix...down on a CD I just can't tell. In fact on a link on my signiture for Walk On one track was recorded HD at 96 can anyone tell me which one it is?
__________________
Living on a Narrowboat in the Middle of nowhere
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-14-2007, 07:27 AM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: I\'m dumping PT if:

bigger is better right???

...until you find out half way into the mixing process how few plugins and how much system resource you need to mix a full band at 24/96K. I'm glad the ADAT inputs max out at 24/48 so I can just do my thang and not even bother trying the high res game. I'm intrigued to see what my Mac Pro can do in the 24/96 arena, but can't really afford to get halfway through the project and have to go finish mixing it on an HD rig...
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-14-2007, 08:41 AM
dubaifox dubaifox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dubai U.A.E.
Posts: 1,245
Default Re: I\'m dumping PT if:

Where in Maine?

I grew up in Portland....
__________________
International Award Winning Arabic Fusion
www.ajmusiconline.com
---------------
2xMacPro 2.66,002r,OSX 10.4.10,PT 7.4cs8
3xVisionDaw,NI Komplete,Yamaha 01V/96
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dumping audio files dubtoc ICON & C|24 2 09-18-2008 01:22 AM
Dumping adats...help... Anthonygallo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-19-2006 01:22 PM
Dumping Analog To Pro Tools MaKoRancid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-27-2005 07:26 AM
HELP! Dumping ADAT into 192 i/o popps Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-13-2003 07:28 AM
Dumping all thepreferences... BeatlesFan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-18-2002 11:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com