Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2012, 02:47 PM
johnbarnesiii johnbarnesiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Default SampleTron lags when trying to load sounds

Hello,

I just purchased SampleTron and I'm trying out the different sounds in Pro Tools 10. After a few minutes scrolling through the tones, I'm getting very long delays, the Mac spinning beachball and the whole software seems to lock up for a few minutes before finally loading the sound. Then same thing happens when I go to next one, its very un-functional. I end up having to restart the computer, though the same thing happens again after a few minutes.

I have a new, fast MacBook Pro with SSD internal drive, super fast.
Is this a common issue with SampleTron? Any idea how I can resolve?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-2012, 04:56 PM
RegenerationMix RegenerationMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 752
Default Re: SampleTron lags when trying to load sounds

Hi, Is the Sampletron content on a different drive from the system drive?

are you also recording to that same SSD drive? What is your computer setup for drives?

how much ram do you have? and how many processors allocated to pro tools in the setup?



Chris
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/RegenerationMix

http://soundcloud.com/regenerationmix

http://twitter.com/regenerationmix


MacBook Pro, 2.4GHZ, 16GB, Intel Core i7, Mac OS 10.9.1 128 SSD internal HD, 750 GB Internal HD, Pro Tools 10.3.8, Digidesign 003r, Waves 8.0, Final Cut Pro 7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2012, 09:42 AM
johnbarnesiii johnbarnesiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Default Re: SampleTron lags when trying to load sounds

Hello Chris, thanks for the reply.

SampleTron and Pro Tools 10 are both running off my internal SSD drive. My Pro Tools sessions are located and stored on my external Glyph 2TB drive.

I'll check the RAM tonight. Also how do I check how many processors are allocated to PT in the setup?

Regards!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-10-2012, 12:14 PM
RegenerationMix RegenerationMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 752
Default Re: SampleTron lags when trying to load sounds

Hi, once pro tools is open, at the top menu under setup / playback engine

set the number or processors to one less than pro tools allows.



I would recommend you get your ram up to 8GB ($50) or 16GB ($50-$75). Its super cheap now. You probably have 4GB.

here are some other helpful hints

http://blog.mixonline.com/mixblog/20...w-to-fix-them/

THe sampletron content should be ok on the SSD, but you can experiment and see if it gives better performance by putting the content on the external drive. I am also assuming your external drive is a firewire drive.


Chris
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/RegenerationMix

http://soundcloud.com/regenerationmix

http://twitter.com/regenerationmix


MacBook Pro, 2.4GHZ, 16GB, Intel Core i7, Mac OS 10.9.1 128 SSD internal HD, 750 GB Internal HD, Pro Tools 10.3.8, Digidesign 003r, Waves 8.0, Final Cut Pro 7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lags when zooming Meads macOS 0 06-01-2011 06:04 PM
My display lags! YoungVal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-18-2010 01:46 PM
ProTools 8 playback lags behind banjo71 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 7 11-27-2009 01:39 PM
Load Sibelius Sounds in Structure 14choirs Virtual Instruments 0 07-13-2007 11:55 PM
system lags Kevin lucero Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-26-2002 01:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com